Essie – I’m Not Impressed

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back in November I bought this Essie set in TKMaxx. I was very excited as I’ve never tried Essie before. It was a pretty good deal too.

The shades are (top photo, from left to right): Russian Roulette, Head Mistress, a metallic shade without a name, Beyond Cozy, and Bobbing for Baubles.

So, I’ve tried wearing these nail polishes with different bases and top coats and THEY CHIPS after 1 day. I’m really disappointed. I love Essie’s colours and formula. The two red shades are perfect for the holiday season. And the Beyond Cozy is a lovely beige/gold polish with tiny, tiny glitter. It doesn’t seem to dry out my nails but perhaps that’s also because I don’t have it on for more than one day since it chips so quickly. One thing I have to say is they dry almost instantly, which makes applying it very easy.

I’ve heard so much about Essie but it just doesn’t work for me. Is it just me?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mirifique Beauty
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 20:28:08

    I find some shades don’t chip as much as others with Essie polishes. Butler Please is a fab colour but chips within a couple of hours but Leading lady never chipped on me at all or Trophy wife

    Reply

  2. mintymilky
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 09:38:43

    The ones I’ve tried were quite long-wearing on me, but some shades weren’t as opaque as the others :/

    Reply

  3. Kareen
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 06:10:28

    I’ve only used Essie’s protein coat and that too has left me unimpressed. Still struggling w/ weak nails. I’ve started taking biotin supplements again & also moisturizing my cuticles w cuticle oil 2-3x a day. Really desperate to have stronger nails so I can wear nail polish and not have my nails chip and split!!

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Dec 29, 2013 @ 23:15:40

      Oh really? I’m not sure what could help. I’ve never had weak nails. Mine are getting a bit dry and yellow but that’s cause I’ve been wearing nail polish non-stop this year. I think treatments, supplements and oils are the only way to go.

      Reply

  4. Caryl
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 03:30:46

    I’ve never used Essie nail polishes before, but they are on my radar. Thank you for doing this post, it gives me more insight if I should invest in them or not. At this stage, I’m undecided, as they’re not a cheap brand, in Australia anyways!

    Caryl x
    http://carylalmelor.com/

    Reply

  5. Juliana
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 17:25:37

    Hey, I love Essie’s nail polishes and have found them to stay longer than some brands. However, you mentioned in your post that the ones you bought dry pretty quickly. Your answer lies in there… basically nail polishes with a quick dry formula tend to chip very easily and that’s why I’ve stopped buying them. I’d rather take a minute or two longer when applying my nail polish than buy a quick-dry one which chips within a day.

    Also, to get your nail polish to last longer, make sure you use a good base coat and top coat. The top coat especially helps the color last longer.

    Hope this helps! 🙂

    Juliana x
    htp://buzzingtrends.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Jan 12, 2014 @ 22:35:55

      Hi Juliana,
      Thanks for this. I’m not sure they were a quick dry formula. They certainly didn’t have any sign on them. Plus one day is short even for a quick dry formula. Obviously, I do use base and top coats with every nail polish. I do agree with you that it’s better to spend a couple of minutes longer and have your polish last longer. Perhaps it’s like with skincare –different things work for different people. I’m glad Essie works for you but I’m going to look for something else. As far as I’m concerned I think this might be the worst nail polish I’ve ever tried.

      Reply

Leave a comment