4 Cream Eye Shadows

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been loving cream eye shadows lately. Since I now get up at 6 am and travel all the time, I have very little time to get my makeup done in the morning. Living out of a suitcase also means that I can’t take much makeup with me. As a result, cream eye shadows have replaced powders and palettes in my makeup bag.

About a year ago I wrote a comparison of Mac Paint Pots and Benefit Creaseless Cream Eyeshadows (here) and concluded that Benefit’s shadows were my favourite. Unfortunately, they have changed the formula and packaging and the new ones CREASE a lot.

So I’ve been trying other brands. I wanted to share my thought with you.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first one is Smashbox Limitless 15 Hour Wear Cream Shadows in Quartz. It’s a really shimmery pink shadow that blends really nicely and brightens up the eye area. I really like this product. It does crease after a couple of hours but other than that it’s really easy to apply and blend. The only problem is that they don’t come in many shades (10 in the UK). They are £15.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next one is Aqua Cream from Make Up For Ever shade 15. As you can’t get MUFE in the UK, I got a friend to bring it back from the US. I heard so much about these shadows so was really disappointed when I tried them. These things are so difficult to work with – they don’t blend and dry out in a second so you have to be really quick when you apply them. I also find it quite difficult to apply them evenly and they crease. I would not repurchase them. I think it was around £15.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Cream Shadows were recommended to me by a girl at a MAC counter. She said they were the only cream shadows that don’t crease. I spend hours trying to choose a colour and finally decided on Velvet Plum. It’s a really strange shade – it has some glitter in it but is really subtle on the eye. I really love this product. It comes in a really small pot but I’ve been using it for several months and I still have over half of it left. It blends really well and DOESN’T CREASE. It’s very easy to apply and you can build it up to go from a day time to a night time look. They are £18.50 and come in many shades.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally, I got Autograph’s cream shadow in Russet. As I mentioned in my haul post, I got this after watching A Model Recommends video and I have to say it’s brilliant. It does crease a bit after a couple of hours but it’s so easy to blend and the colour is so beautiful. As first I thought it might be weird to wear red eye shadows but with a brown eye liner they look really nice. The best thing about this product is its texture – it’s a soft bouncy mousse. Yes, I know it sounds strange but just try it and you’ll understand. Unfortunately they only come in 3 shades: gold, silver and this one. On the plus side they are only £7.5.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bobbi Brown and Autograph’s cream shadows are my favourite. They have been my staple products for the past couple of months. 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katecheetham
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 21:19:00

    The autograph one looks amazing! I never think of M&S make up might have to check it out 🙂

    Kate x

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Nov 11, 2013 @ 21:24:33

      Hi Kate. Neither do I. But Ruth from A Model Recommends has been known to have great ideas ;). This one looks great on brunettes and blonds, so if you get the chance – swatch it. I’m loving it! Such a great colour for autumn/winter.

      Reply

  2. Joanna Koh
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 10:32:22

    No way! You can’t get MUFE in the UK? Aw man, you guys are missing out, I hope they open up a store there soon. I use alot of their products, although I’m not a fan of their cream eyeshadows, their foundation, powder, eye and lip products are a must-have in my kit.

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Nov 17, 2013 @ 14:41:19

      I know! It’s so strange given that it’s a French brand. I don’t know what’s wrong with the UK. I love their foundation and always need to travel to buy it. There is one store in London that has MUFE products but they are more expensive than normal.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

