NARS Killing Me Softly Palette Review

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m probably the last person to jump on the NARS blush bandwagon. I’ve heard so many people rave about NARS blushes over the years but never bought one. It’s probably because the two most popular shades – Deep Throat and Orgasm, in addition to having the most ridiculous names ever, have a lot of glitter in them. Every time I tried to swatch them on my hand they looked too sparkly. I didn’t think I would be able to wear them.

Killing Me Softly palette came out back in September and I thought it would be a good way to try a couple of NARS blushes. It was only £30 and you get 4 colours and 10g of product. I say ‘only’ cause NARS product are usually quite pricy. From the top right corner in a clock-wise direction: Albatross, Orgasm, Outlaw, and Gilda. Albatross is a pearl highlighter. Orgasm and Outlaw have some glitter in it and Gilda is a matte coral- peach colour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In artificial light

I have to say I’m completely converted and in love with NARS blushes. They are so pigmented and so long-lasting. I usually wear Gilda with Orgasm on top – it gives the most amazing wash of colour and a healthy glow. It’s the first time I’m wearing a blush with so much glitter in it but for some reason it doesn’t look to sparkly once you have it on. It just gives this amazing healthy look to your skin. I finally understand why they called it Orgasm: it does look like afterglow :D. Nonetheless, Deep Throat is still a ridiculous name for a blush. Unless it makes you look like…

I think it’s a very good palette with a blush for every occasion. Adding a highlighter makes it even more practical: you can easily transform your daytime look into a glamorous evening look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Orgasm, Outlaw, Gilda and Albatross

If you prefer something with warmer colours there is a second version of this palette called Adult Content: it contains Zen, Miss Liberty, Desire, and Deep Throat. Desire is a very pale pink with blue undertones that I don’t think would go well with my skin tone (yellow undertones). Zen is a natural looking blush that can double as a bronzer and Miss Liberty is another highlighter. It’s a very versatile palette but I prefer the coral and peachy tones of Gilda and Orgasm.

UPDATE:

I tried wearing Outlaw today and I was surprised how lovely it looked. I’ve never used such a dark blush. I guess I was just worried that it will make me look really weird and would wash me out. But it turns out it doesn’t look scary at all. It’s actually a nice, wearable colour.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. miniatureblush
    Oct 19, 2013 @ 19:18:41

    Thanks for the review! This looks amazing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

