New Lush Favourites and London Beauty Bloggers Meetup

Last week I went to the third London Beauty Bloggers Meetup organised by lovely Rebbeca from http://www.biteablebeauty.com/. It’s a community of London-based beauty bloggers. It was the third meetup and the second one I attended.

This time we went to a Lush Face Mask Party where we made our own Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask. Unfortunately, it’s probably my least favourite Lush product ever. It makes me skin feel so rough. But I am a huge Lushie. I love everything about Lush: the idea behind the brand, the people who work there, their shops and their seasonal products. So I’ve decided to share with you some of my latest Lush favourites and new discoveries as well as some pics from the meetup.

Brazened Honey

59-Brazened-Honey

I thought I tried all Lush fresh face masks before but I must have missed this one. It’s a detox mask with a range of brightening and exfoliating ingredients:

fresh organic lime juice, sage, rosemary, eggs, honey, ground almond shells and almond oil, fresh ginger root and oil, fresh parsley and coriander, ground turmeric, ground cardamom, and clove bud oil

Ginger is probably my favourite ingredient/ spice of all time. I add it to almost everything: I drink ginger infusions, I add it as a powder to most sauces and dishes. I even drink ginger smoothies. It’s a brilliant ingredient because of its purifying, detoxifying and refreshing properties. Turmeric and parsley are two of the most powerful natural anti-cancer ingredients. The medicine that’s currently used to fight cancer is based on the active substances found in  turmeric. Parsley, although quite unassuming, is packed with good ingredients and is one of the healthiest things you can eat. Combining all these ingredients in a face masks is a brilliant idea and the results are simply superb. The best thing about this mask is that it is multifunctional. You can use it as a face mask but because it contains ground almond shells, when you wash it off it doubles as a lovely face scrub. I am obsessed with this face mask at the moment and use it every day. I genuinely feel that my face looks brighter.

All Lush facemasks are natural and have no preservatives in them. As a result you can only use them for 3 weeks and need to keep them in the fridge. If you haven’t tried them yet I strongly recommend you do.

Cynthia Sylvia Stout

108-Cynthia-resized

A couple of weeks ago I went to Lush looking for a natural shampoo for my damaged hair. I have tried Lush shampoos before, mostly solid ones, but wasn’t all that impressed. The Lush girl recommended this one because of its strong moisturising properties and the soft, glossy finish it gives. It’s a beer, or actually Stout-based shampoo. How cool is that! It doesn’t smell like beer: it has an amazing fruity, woody, spicy scent. In addition, it has:

Fresh organic lemon juice that helps to really clean your hair,

Cognac oil which gives this shampoo a lovely cognac and fruity scent,

Yeasts which helps to moisturise and nourish hair and have antioxidant properties, and

Balsamic vinegar that makes hair shiny and soft.

I really love the scent of this shampoo. I feel like it improved the condition of my hair and made it much stronger and shinier. With every wash my damaged ends feel less dry and my hair feels healthier. It doesn’t contain any harmful ingredients and silicones. It does however contain some parabens. I wish Lush would stop using parabens. There are so many products I love from Lush but can’t use because of this. I really don’t know what they are so determined to keep using them when so many other companies switch to safer preservatives. Because it’s a shampoo and most of it goes down the drain anyway, I will continue using it for now. I think parabens are a bit less of a problem in a product that doesn’t sink into the skin like for example a body lotion.

It doesn’t lather particularly well and I did go through the small bottle quite quickly but on the other hand it’s not very expensive either.

LushBlog

Lush Bloggers3

LushBloggers

And here are some pics from our lovely meetup. Rebecca is a great organiser: she’s so good at finding sponsors, coming up with great activities and finding lovely restaurants/cafes for our meetups. If you’d like to find out more about our meetups and London beauty bloggers visit our website and make sure you check out bloggers profiles.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. toniegirl
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 20:20:06

    I love LUSH products! Thanks for a great post!

    Reply

  2. beautytherapystudent
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 20:58:33

    Ooooh wish I still lived in London to take part in events like this – looks like a great day!

    Reply

  3. Kaye
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 17:08:36

    Thank you for following. I love reading makeup reviews. I’ll be checking regularly. Lovely blog.

    Kaye
    http://myeverydaystruggles.wordpress.com

    Reply

  4. longandluxe
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 19:47:16

    I’m loving your blog! Great and useful info! I had no idea the benefits of parsley and ginger but now I will take extra care to incorporate them into my routine. Thanks so much for your visit to my blog 🙂

    Reply

  5. silverkis
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 14:56:46

    Oh… bloggers meet up is always so much fun! I’ve nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blog award! http://silverkis.com/2013/07/09/my-very-first-blog-award/

    Reply

  6. thebeautydeputy
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 23:41:56

    Love Lush products!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

