Perricone MD Anti-Ageing Protective Trio review: Hypoallergenic Peptide Complex, Face Finishing Moisturiser, High Potency Eye Lift

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I got Perricon MD Anti- Ageing Protective Trio in April. Since I’ve used it up, I thought I’d do an updated review.

Here is what the trio includes:

Hypoallergenic Peptide Complex (30 ml – full size): it’s an anti-aging serum for sensitive skin. It’s ‘improves resilience, tone, and texture while minimizing wrinkles’.

Face Finishing Moisturiser (30 ml – full size 60ml): moisturising anti-aging cream. It reduces the appearance of lines and wrinkles and improves radiance.

High Potency Eye Lift (5 ml – full size 15ml): and eye cream that lifts, brightens, tones and tightens the eye area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So does it work?

No.

I’m really disappointed with Perricone MD. I’ve used up all three products and didn’t really notice an improvements. Even though I’m 32, I don’t have wrinkles and use anti-ageing for prevention more than correction. So it’s always difficult to assess the long-term effects of anti-ageing products. However, I can see how it makes my skin look after a couple of weeks.

Some serums, such as my favourite Filogra, make your skin feel smooth and plumped. And they make a good base for your moisturiser and make up. Perricone MD isn’t one of them. The Peptide Complex made my skin feel rough in comparison to other anti-ageing serums. It felt rough and bumpy, tired and my pores appeared larger than before. I didn’t like using this product and for the first time couldn’t wait to finish the bottle so I can get back to Filorga.

The High Potency Eye Lift cream was even worse. It’s the strangest thing: this cream made the area around my eye darker. And I don’t mean the under eye area but the lids as well. I looked like a raccoon! I’ve never seen a cream do that before.

The Face Finishing Moisturiser was quite ok. Nothing to write home about, but it was a good product. The Alpha Lipoic Acid, one of the main ingredients, gives a tingling and ‘stinging’ sensation when you first apply to cream. But at least I had an impression it’s doing something. It’s a nice anti-aging moisturiser.

Overall, I was desperately trying to finish the three products so I could get back to my beloved Filorga. It’s not a good sensation to have when using three products that cost about £100 each. I’m so disappointed with Perricone and don’t think I will be trying their more expensive products anytime soon. It just goes to show, the expensive brands are not always the best.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kareen
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 01:34:19

    Hey Anna! Long time no talk. Too bad how these products were no good. I personally think that after a certain point, high prices on beauty products are just a sham. Because if their price is relative to their effectiveness, then their formula has to be exponentially better than mid-range price products. I just don’t see that happening. Chemistry is chemistry. The rest is just marketing and hype.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

