Philip Kingsley Elasticizer VS Charles Worthington Intense Rescue Melting Balm

 blams

Are you one of these people who can wash their hair, blow dry it in 5 min and go? I’m not. I need to plan washing my hair in advance as it takes at least 30 min to style. It’s as difficult as it gets: it’s really frizzy, thick, dry, damaged by heat straightening and wavy in all the wrong places.

I have been trying out a number of hair products recently as part of my never-ending pursuit of perfect, smooth hair. Here is a review of two of them: Elasticizer and Intense Rescue Melting Balm.

They are both pre-shampoo hair moisturising and softening treatments. You apply them to dry hair 30 min before getting into the shower and then wash and style your hair as normal.

The result: your hair is more manageable, softer and shinier. They are both really nice products and they really work. I wanted to do a comparative review as I know trying to find the right hair care product can be confusing. There are so many conditioners, oils, treatments, and masks available it’s hard to know which ones work and which ones don’t.

Elasticizer

This product has won a number of awards, for example InStyle Best Beauty Buys 2013: Best Deep Conditioning Mask. It’s a balm, similar in consistency to a conditioner. It costs £12.75 for 75ml and you get it at M&S beauty section or online (eg. Feelunique). It has castor oil, olive oil, and glycerine. All here ingredients help to lock in moisture and add shine. It also has silicones. Which obviously make your hair look better but are not the best ingredient for your hair in the long run.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Melting Balm

This product is quite famous in the UK. It’s a solid balm that transforms into oil when you rub it between your hands. It costs £16.99 for 100ml and you can buy it in Boots in the UK. It does have a blend of 7 oils and butters.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Comparison

Both products are designed for damaged and over-styled hair. Both are supposed to make your hair more manageable and lock in moisture. And both do. They are both really nice products. However, out of the two the Elasticizer is a much better product. Here is why:

The Elasticizer made my hair softer. It was smoother and nicer to touch. It was also less frizzy and easier to style. I could notice the difference particularly when it came to my dry and damaged ends. The hair felt healthier and less dry.

Here are some photos of my hair after using the two products: I let them dry naturally and didn’t straighten or apply any after wash products to give you a better idea of how the pre-shampoo products work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overall, I think these products are really good if frizziness is your main/only problem. For my it’s the fact that my hair is just blah… not wavy, not curly, just blah. As a result, although I find that both of these products work and do what it says on the package, it’s not enough for me. My hair still requires heat styling to look good. But if your hair is frizzy and you just want to calm them down without changing the shape of your hair I would strongly recommend these products.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kareen
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 20:02:27

    You can really see the difference on your photo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

