Molecule 01 Fragrance Review: the Magic of Pheromones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t have a lot of perfume. I have two or three favourite scents, a bunch of samples and that’s it. I rarely buy new perfume. Last week I went to Liberty to smell a perfume that I’ve been hearing a lot about: Molecule 01.

This is a CULT product. In just one day, one of the 3 sales advisors at Liberty’s perfume department sold over 30 bottles of this scent. It sells like hotcakes! It’s in every newspaper, every blog and on every beauty editor’s picks list. And now I can see why.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Why is it a cult product?

First of all, the scent is based on one main ingredient and is designed to work with pheromones in your skin. It sinks in and then resurfaces after about 15 min as your own personal scent. The key is to leave it for a couple of minutes to ‘kick in’. It’s a unisex scent made by a company called Escentric Molecule. It’s incredibly long lasting: I’ve never worn perfume that lasted all day before. It’s also not that expensive. I paid £27 for 30ml. Escentric Molecule have other scents based on the same main principle but have a fragrance of their own: it’s a light scent that according to the sales advisor at Liberty ‘guides the pheromones in the right direction’. However I prefer the original version.

 The way it works is that because it enhances your natural pheromones you rarely smell it on yourself (although I can smell it on myself which is how I know it’s so long lasting). It’s all about how others react to your pheromones. So when I sprayed it on one of those tester pieces of paper in the store it didn’t have any scent. On me however it smells great: my friend described the scent on me as very woody and spicy but also fruity.

What’s so great about it?

Well, mainly the fact that even though it seems like every woman in London owns this scent, it smells different on everyone. When I was at Liberty I was talking to another girl who just bought a bottle. I smelled her wrist and she smelled mine (nothing weird about it, just two girls trying to justify a purchase 🙂 ). The same perfume smelled different on her. It was similar, but different. How cool is that?!

Why do I love it?

It’s a bespoke scent. Need I say more?

I always wanted to have my own personal, signature scent. For years Flower by Kenzo was my signature scent. Then, more recently, I’ve been loving Gucci by Gucci. I still love both of them but now I can see a difference between all my other perfumes and Molecule 01. Wearing perfumes is like stepping into a cloud of scent. But it’s artificial: it’s not your scent but a designed chemical fragrance.  Wearing Molecule 01 feels more natural. It’s like a perfume equivalent of makeup that enhances your natural beauty. It brings out your inner self, your own pheromones and character. I just love this idea.

After all, perfumes are all about your image, how you want to see yourself and how you want others to see you. If wearing a great scent can help you feel more confident just think how wearing a bespoke scent that’s based on your pheromones can make you feel?

I do love how Molecule 01 smells on me. I love that it lasts all day and it has become my favourite perfume in less than a week.

Coming up:

Perricone MD trio review

Another haul

Best sugar scrub and an exciting new store

Pre-shampoo hair conditioning balms: comparison

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. unfadedbeauty
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 12:04:51

    *tempted*

    Reply

  2. Elise G
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:29:44

    AHH, I JUST reviewed this one! Did you know that the name comes from the fact that this fragrance is made up of just one synthetic scent molecule? It’s called Iso E Super, which gives a “warm skin” note when blended but acts totally mysterious on its own.
    I love Molecule 01, and hope you enjoyed today’s Fun Fact 😉

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:35:23

      Yes, I did :). That’s what they tell you when you buy it. That’s what it’s famous for. I actually mention this in my review. I will check out your review 🙂

      Reply

      • Elise G
        Apr 25, 2013 @ 16:11:09

        Oh no, I must have read it too fast! Now I feel silly and will go freshen up my fragrance to make up for it, hee.

      • youngforgood
        Apr 25, 2013 @ 16:17:39

        You feel silly? I just realised I not only read and liked your post before but missed the part of your review where you wrote about Molecule 01! :(Must pay more attention!

      • Elise G
        Apr 25, 2013 @ 16:20:04

        A lesson in Mindfulness…or something like that? I’m always working, or texting, or painting my nails when I blog. It’s a wonder we get anything done!

      • youngforgood
        Apr 25, 2013 @ 16:22:10

        Haha, same here! Sometimes I wonder why we even bother to write instead of just posting photos 😀

  3. Trackback: Molecule 1 Perfume – Why Everyone Falls in Love with It | Cosmetica Blog

Leave a Reply

