Moving Flats: Empties and Fails

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve recently moved flats and as a result had to go through my bathroom cupboard and pack everything. I found some old products that I bought a while back and didn’t use up. I also threw away some empty products that I liked. So I thought I’d quickly run through some of them here:

Empties

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vo5 Heat Protect Styling Spray

It’s an OK heat protecting spray. It works well but there is nothing special about it: just an average product. I didn’t really see any difference between this and any other heat protecting spray I used in the past. I won’t be repurchasing it as I’m currently loving KMS Quick Blow Dry. I have also stopped using straightening iron after every wash as it damages my hair. Instead I’ve been blow drying my hair using my Big Hair or a large round brush.

Frizz-ease Firm Hold Hairspray

This product claims to de-frizz while protecting your hair style. I do like it and have repurchased it since. I have never used a high-end hair spray so don’t know how it compares. But this is a good, basic hair spray.

Dual Senses Pure Repair 60sec Treatment

It’s a paraben free hair mask for stressed or damaged hair. It worked well as a daily conditioner but nothing out of the ordinary. It’s the kind of product you easily forget. It costs only about £6 so it’s good value for an everyday paraben-free conditioner. I might repurchase it at some point in the future.

Byron Replenish Shampoo

It’s an organic, natural product by a Beverly Hills based hair salon/brand. It has heat-activated ingredients that protect and replenish hair during heat styling. It smells lovely and I really liked it. It’s a bit on the expensive side and it’s not easily available in Europe. I got it at Harvey Nichols Beauty Bazaar but I’ve never actually seen it in any of the online beauty stores. I might repurchase it next time I’m at Harvey Nichols.

Batiste Dry Shampoo Original

To be honest I don’t see why it’s a cult product. I’ve heard so much about it but again, it’s just another dry shampoo. It’s good but nothing special. With that much hype around this product I think I was expecting a bit more. I might repurchase it if I can’t find anything better.

Fails

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Macadamia Natural Oil Moisturising Rinse

I wrote about this product when I did a review of the Deep Repair Mask from the same line. I bought this conditioner along with Macadamia Moisturising Shampoo a while back. I didn’t like this product. It made my hair feel oily and coarse. It actually felt ‘stiffer’ and ‘harder’ than before using the product. From what I’ve seen Macadamia products are very uneven. The Deep Repair Mask and the oil are amazing. Everything else: not so much. Even though it’s paraben and sulphate- free I won’t be repurchasing.

MOP C-system C-straight Smoothing Shine Lotion

This product claims to help maintain a straight hair style. It’s a leave-in straightening lotion that you apply on damp hair. In my opinion, it doesn’t really do anything apart from weighting your hair down and making it look greasy. It’s paraben free and organic but I won’t be repurchasing. Luckily, as you can see on the photo above, I got this at TK Maxx which means I didn’t pay much for it. I’ve tried a couple of other MOP products and I was not impressed. None of them really stood out to me so I will be steering clear of this brand in the future.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marijadebono
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 06:55:15

    what do you think about the macadamia hair range? was gonna buy a whole set of the oil, mask and shampoo. should i go ahead?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

