Honey for Beauty: an Amazing New Natural Brand.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An all natural anti-aging product that actually works and costs less than £10? Sounds too good to be true? Not necessarily.

Back in March I went to a beauty bloggers meet up in London where I met the lovely Monica: a creator and owner of Honey for Beauty, a new natural British brand (website here). She gave me three of her products to test and review. I’ve been using them for over a month and wanted to let you know what I thought of them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First of all, they come in super cute packaging. It has this old apothecary feel to it: glass jars, old-fashioned labels with ribbons, and rose petals in the boxes. Very stylish. You also get the feeling that these products are home-made. In the best possible sense: they are not manufactured but created with love and care. All ingredients are listed on the labels. There are no nasty chemicals or preservatives. The only chemical ingredient is Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier in the facial cleanser): an ingredient that is considered safe enough to be used in the food industry.

I tried three out of the four products currently on their website (I’m dying to try the fourth one as it looks divine). Here is what I thought of them:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All Natural Rejuvenating Serum with Royal Jelly and Jasmine Oil (£8.99)

Description: It’s an anti-aging serum with royal jelly ‘one of nature’s most nourishing and healing substances’. It has vitamin E oil, avocado oil, castor oil, jojoba oil, hazelnut oil, royal jelly, jasmine essential oil, and rosewood oil.

Review: It’s an interesting product. On one hand, it smells horribly. I have to breathe through my mouth when I apply it (luckily, the scent doesn’t linger). On the other hand, the horrible scent is more than offset by the fact that this serum really works! I use it at night with a cream from the same line (below) and when I wake up in the morning my skin is noticeably brighter and more radiant. It looks healthy and the pores are less visible. Basically, every time I used this combination of products I have a good skin day. It’s an effective, all natural anti-aging serum for less than £10! So who cares if it smells a bit weird.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All Natural Moisturiser with Honey, Royal Jelly and Champagne (£8.99).

Description: It’s an anti-aging cream with anti-oxidants, vitamins, and enzymes. It helps to reduce wrinkles, detoxify the skin and tighten pores.

Review: This product, on the other hand, smells lovely. I’m guessing it’s the champagne. It’s a light but moisturising cream, not too greasy and absorbs really quickly. I noticed that it leaves a bit of white residue on my face but this disappears quickly. As I mentioned above, I’ve only ever used this product with the serum and the results were amazing. My pores were less noticable and my skin looked well-rested.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All Natural Oil Cleanser with Propolis and Melissa Oil (£6.99)

Description: It’s a facial cleansing oil with grape seed oil, melissa oil, and lavender oil. It contains propolis which not only helps to clear acne but also enhances collagen and elastin formation.

Review: I think this might be a fantastic product for people with dry skin. Personally, I found it really difficult to use and passed it on to another blogger. It left my skin oily. I mean REALLY oily: the kind of oily that leaves your hands greasy for hours, no matter how much you rinse. It also didn’t lather much and didn’t remove make up. It just wasn’t for me.

Final Ruling

Overall, I would strongly recommend the first two products, especially in a combo. I’m not convinced by the third product but if you’ve got dry skin give it a try.

I love natural products and am always looking to try new natural brands. However, finding a natural product that visibly helps to reduce the signs of aging is really difficult. Sure, there is Perricone MD, NuBo and so on but these products cost £100 on average, not £10. That’s why I think that Honey for Beauty is an incredible new brand and one to watch. I was really surprised but it actually works. Sure, I don’t like all of the products but to be honest that’s the case with most of the brands. And sure, the cleanser might be too oily for oily skin and the serum might smell horribly but the bottom line is: it’s effective and it’s really affordable. Most of all, it’s created by a lovely, positive person and not a faceless corporation and that, for me, matters a lot.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kareen
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 11:12:58

    This looks GREAT!!! I am taking note of this new brand 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

