Invisalign Update: Miraculous Invisible Braces!

invisalign123

I’ve been wearing Invisalign braces for 6 months now and honestly until yesterday I didn’t think about mentioning it here. Yesterday, I went to my orthodontist to pick up my new aligners (set 12 out of 25). To mark the occasion my orthodontist showed me the ‘before’ photos: photos of me from October 2012. Seriously, my jaw dropped. I’m in awe of the results. You know when something changes so slowly that you don’t notice it? This is what happened with my braces. I thought my teeth were looking a bit better but only when saw the photos I realised how much they had changed. I’m completely astonished and chuffed to bits.

In case you don’t know what Invisalign is.

Invisalign are clear plastic braces that you wear 22h a day and remove for meals and drinks. They are custom made and you get a new set of aligners every two weeks. Unlike metal braces these are completely invisible. Clearly, you will see them when you look in the mirror up close but I can guarantee, based on personal experience, that no one at work or at a party will ever notice them. One cool thing is that when you get the braces you get an animated video showing you how your teeth are going to change. My treatment will take one year although for some people 6 months is enough: depends on the problem.

Why do I think they are miraculous?

My teeth were crooked. I had metal braces when I was younger but something clearly went wrong. My biggest problem was that my two upper front incisors were longer than the other teeth by one third! That did not look good. Looking at the ‘before’ pictures now I’m surprised I waited so long to fix this. After only 6 months my front incisors are almost the SAME LENGTH as my other teeth. And I still have 6 months to go. I’m so pleased with this. As my upper lip is a bit shorter I always felt self-conscious about my teeth. Two years ago I was about to have plastic surgery to make my upper lip longer. Luckily the surgeon suggested that I would be better off getting my teeth straight. Today I’m really happy that I avoided this unnecessary and invasive procedure and feel more confident about my lips and smile. I even started wearing lipstick which I didn’t do before to avoid drawing attention to my lips.

Is it really expensive?

Not really. In the UK it’s a couple of thousands pounds. Depends where you go. Some clinics, like mine, offer a finance system whereby you pay a little bit up front and then about £70 a month for a couple of years. Which is as much as you pay for a gym membership in London or twice as much as you pay for your mobile phone contract. It’s not going to blow a hole in your budget although obviously it’s an investment.

Are they comfortable?

 Although it’s a bit of a nuisance to take them off each time you want to eat or drink, and you do sound a bit different when you are wearing them (even after 6 months), I must say I haven’t experienced any pain or discomfort. So far it’s been absolutely painless.

 images

I’m really glad I decided to get Invisalign and would strongly recommend it to anyone who, like me, may be feeling a bit self-conscious about their teeth. I’m really happy with the results and feel positive about the second part of the treatment. My teeth look incredible and I’m showing off my new smile :).

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rhiannonlily
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 17:09:17

    Great post! Glad you’ve had such success! I’ve been considering Invisalign myself but the cost put me off. The finance sounds an easier way of doing it though! Which clinic are you at, if you don’t mind me asking? I’m also in London. Thanks

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 18:10:07

      Thanks, I don’t mind at all! I went to about 5 different clinics trying to find the one that would work for me. I’m with Pearl Dental Clinic near Richmond Park. It’s a bit far for me, takes me 1.5h each way but it’s over £1000 cheaper than in the city for the same treatment. The service isn’t ideal. The people there are a bit confused and not punctual. But besides that the treatment is going really well. They have about 4 different finance schemes available. With some of them you don’t even need to pay a deposit. I would really recommend Invisalign. I can honestly say it changed my life 🙂

      Reply

      • rhiannonlily
        Apr 09, 2013 @ 18:35:19

        Thanks so much for the info, I’ll definitely look into it. I would love to be less self conscious of my teeth! I also had train tracks as a kid but they moved since and I have some teeth I’d like to be a bit straighter. For a £1,000 saving I don’t mind travelling a bit out of the way!

      • youngforgood
        Apr 09, 2013 @ 18:54:53

        Yes, I’m the same ;). I hope it works out! I know exactly how you feel and although people might think it’s vain the braces really helped me to feel more confident.

  2. dianaemg
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 20:01:22

    Damn I hope WordPress let me reblogg this…

    Reply

  3. Kareen
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 09:08:26

    Thanks for sharing your experience! I had metal braces when I was a teenager (oh the shame!). My teeth were straightened afterwards. But of course, I eventually fell out of the habit of using my retainers and now my teeth are out of place again. So this is a treatment I could think about. I’m really glad you feel confident enough to wear lipstick! That’s great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

