April Haul

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m in the midst of flat searching and flat viewing. You would have thought that the prospect of packing and moving would stop me from shopping. You would be wrong. Here are some of my latest picks including a second order from Escentual and their March French pharmacy sale.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel

This is the second Effaclar cleanser I bought. I got the first one on a whim at Boots. I wanted to try a drugstore paraben-free facial cleanser. It doesn’t really makes sense for me to buy expensive facial cleansers as I use them up so quickly. I really like this one. It’s really good at removing makeup, it doesn’t dry out my skin and I feel like it cleanses well. It doesn’t really smell of anything but it has a nice, gel consistency and is great for oily skin. It’s my new go-to cleanser and silent favourite of the past couple of months. It’s soap-free and suitable for sensitive skin (200ml £11).

Nuxe Reve de Miel Face Cleansing and Make-up Removing Gel 

I have a lip balm from the Reve de Miel line and wanted to try other products. I love honey, the smell, the colour… This facial cleanser is a bit more nourishing and moisturising than Effaclar. I only use it at night as I feel it might be too much for my oily skin. However, this might be brilliant for people with dry skin. It smells amazing. It looks and smells like liquid honey. I think Effaclar is a bit better at removing makeup while this one is better at moisturising the skin. It’s like washing your face in a ray of sunshine. Nuxe products are also paraben- and nasty chemicals- free (200ml £12).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nuxe Reve de Miel Hand and Nail Cream

I’m addicted to hand creams. I use a hand cream every single time I wash my hands, which is a lot of times per day. As a result I can never have enough hand creams. This one is really thick and creamy which I like. It has the same honey-based scent as all products from the Reve de Miel line although it’s the cream is not strongly scented. Funnily, it smells more like the Reve de Miel facial cleanser than the lip balm which has a very distinctive honey scent. It’s an excellent paraben-free product that can easily fit in a handbag (75ml £10).

Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Multipurpose Dry Oil

I have tried so many hair oils. Some of them work some don’t. Most of them are quite oily. What I really like about this product is that it’s a dry oil. This means that when you put it in your hair your hair your hands are not greasy or sticky like with so many other oils. My Percy & Reed No Oil Oil has so much silicones that I have to use a washing up liquid to get it of my hands (it works great though). I have super think, frizzy hair. Not many things work on it. I was surprised but it seems like this oil does. You can also use it on your body and face. It smells really good. I also love the packaging: a classy glass bottle. I can see why this is a cult product (50ml £17).

.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

KMS Free Shape Quick Blow Dry

This product is a bit of a strange one. I got a sample in one of the subscription boxes. I used the sample and decided I couldn’t live without this product. The thing is I don’t know why. It doesn’t make my hair sleek, doesn’t defrizze them. According to the product description it speeds up the drying process and lightly conditions the hair. Not sure if I see the difference but for some reason I really like using it. It’s a two-phase liquid. It has a nice scent and I do feel like my hair dries quicker. It’s also a heat protecting spray which is always good (200ml £11.50).

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frombeauty2fashion
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 23:01:54

    I love effaclar! I posted about it and another roche posay product just yeaterday! 🙂 x

    Reply

  2. itslacour
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 18:52:13

    the Nuxe Reve de Miel Face Cleansing and Make-up Removing Gel sounds really nice. do you think it would be suitable for combination skin??

    Reply

  3. Kareen
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 14:43:14

    Good luck with your move! Can’t wait to read your cleanser reviews as I’ve been on the lookout for good cleansers. I just started using Liz Earle’s hot cloth polish cleanser. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. What do you look for in a cleanser?

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 18:18:13

      Thanks, how is Paris? I tried Liz Earle but don’t really like it (particularly the scent). I’m not sure if I will be doing an in-depth review of these. I like them both but I think Effaclar is amazing. Have you tried it? Must be easy to get in Paris. It’s really simple but works great. It removes make up and leaves the skin really clean, which is what I look for in a cleanser. I don’t like the ones that leave my face oily or have any sort of residue. How about you?

      Reply

      • Kareen
        Apr 13, 2013 @ 18:08:13

        Things are pretty good! I kind of like Paris even more now that I’m drawing near the end of my time here! Haha. Of course I’m sure I’ll miss this place like crazy. I tried the Liz Earle twice, but afterwards I had to stop using it because my skin was reacting so badly. I’m going to give it a break, and then pick it up again. And if my skin starts reacting badly again, I’ll know for sure it’s that. For me, when I’m looking for a cleanser, I like ones that don’t leave my skin feeling too tight (I have normal to dry combination skin) and then ones that don’t make my face look worse than before I started using it 😀

      • youngforgood
        Apr 16, 2013 @ 22:58:17

        Yes, I guess it’s a general rule of thumb for me: I’d like products to improve how my skin looks 😀

  4. Tippy Temperley
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 09:49:41

    I tried effaclar and I have sensitive dry skin. It definitely works well at getting rid of spots but my god is it drying. I have to make a mad dash for my moisturiser otherwise my face feels like a dried up prune! 🙂 Have you tried the Nuxe oil on your face? I’m a bit sceptical about products one can put on both body and face!

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Apr 10, 2013 @ 11:06:32

      Oh really? That’s too bad. It’s perhaps not suitable for super dry skin. It doesn’t dry me out at all. Try the Nuxe one. As for the oil I would never use it on my face :). I only use it for my hair.

      Reply

  5. Trackback: 2013 Beauty Favourites. Part 1: Skincare, Body and Hair Care | Young For Good

Leave a Reply

