The Best & Worst Top Coat Review: Recent Purchases

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I recently got a couple of new base and top coats and found a new favourite. I also came across what I consider to be the worst top coat I’ve ever tried. I always assumed that top coats were one of those products where it doesn’t really make any difference what you buy as they’re all more or less the same. My recent experiments suggest the opposite.

Rimmel Pro Matte Finish Top Coat

I’ll start with my new favourite. I’m completely wowed by this top coat. Matte nails together with textured nails have been all the rage lately. Avon, Nubar, Nail Inc and other companies have started making matte nail polishes. Some worked well, some chipped. Then, matte top coats were introduced: top coats that transform any nail polish into a matte finish one by removing all shine from the surface of the nail. Nails Inc, OPI, Butter London, Mavala, and Essia are amongst the companies that offer a matte top coat. Not being sure if I like this look or not I decided to start with a cheaper alternative: Rimmel Pro Matte Finish Top Coat (£4.59 at Boots).

Turns out: I the effect it gives. I think it makes this colour look much more sophisticated and gives it an interesting twist. Also, it’s great to have the option to transform all your nail polish into matte ones is something that really excites me. It also allows me to play with the finish and used one polish with two different finishes at the same time.

On the photo below you can see China Glaze Dress Me Up with the Rimmel Pro Matte top coat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dress Me Up with the matte top coat and a couple dots of Dress Me Up without the top coat for comparison.

No 7 Stay Perfect Top Coat

I tried this top coat a couple of times and it worked fine with a mono-colour mani. It’s not an amazing product but it works OK. Yet, when I tried to use it as a top coat for a nail art mani it smudged the colours. I was really surprised as all the layers were dry. Below is a picture of my snow leopard nail art with this top coat. You can see that the layers are smudged on my pinky. I applied the Sally Hansen Double Duty top coat on other nails straight after that and it didn’t smudge. I have never seen a top coat smudge a mani before so I this is the worst top coat I’ve ever tried (£6 in Boots).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was silly enough to delete other photos of this.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. itslacour
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 20:18:02

    I love the rimmel matte top coat as well! it makes your nails look even more gorgeous and its a big enough bottle!

    ~ http://itslacourbeauty.wordpress.com ~

    Reply

  2. Juliana
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 20:29:32

    The Boots Naturals top coat too smudges a dried base. I realized this when I used darker shades. When I applied the top coat on a well-dried dark red polish, the color transferred to the top coat in the bottle and now it has a pinkish hue. Not impressed at all. The top coat was not very expensive, so I’m not feeling all that bad.

    Reply

  3. Juliana
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 22:35:55

    Yeah, and it makes sense to stick to what you know works! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kittiemui
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 04:03:01

    i have the matt top coat too! I love it as well!

    Reply

  5. softcottonbeauty
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 13:24:32

    Thanks for reviewing this. I always thought no7 top coat would be good as the colour polishes are fantastic. It’s so sad their top coat did that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

