Small Spring Haul

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a small drugstore/ high-end/ online haul. It’s the first haul on this blog. I thought I’d share a couple of my purchases from yesterday with you.

I forgot to put on mascara yesterday when I was getting ready to go to work. I went to Boots on my way to the office to pick one up. In the evening, I stopped by Selfridges to get a new Konjac sponge. I’m going away for a couple of days and wanted to take the sponge with me but my old one needed to be replaced. I also placed an online order for a couple of French skincare items. One of my favourite online stores, Escentual (here) has 1/3 sale on French pharmacy brands throughout March.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Illamasqua Powder Eyeshadow in Justify: I needed a matte taupe or brown eyeshadow for an upcoming tutorial. I went to MAC but they didn’t seem to have anything like this. This is my first Illamasqua product and I am amazed by the pigmentation and softness of their shadows. They have a great selection of matte colours. The lady at the counter explained that matte shadows look better on camera as they are not light-reflecting. Which is why Illamasqua is the brand of choice for many TV and movie makeup artists. Or so she says.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Max Factor on the left. Rimmel on the right

Rimmel Lash Accelerator and Max Factor Lash Extension Effect Mascaras: I’m not a fan of Rimmel and Max Factor mascaras. The little Boots next to my office didn’t have L’Oreal which is my go-to drugstore brand for mascaras so I thought I might as well try something different this time. They are both lengthening and separating. I tried the Rimmel one yesterday and at first glance I wasn’t impressed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Konjac Sponge: My first post on this blog was a review of Konjac sponges 🙂 (here). This time I got the red version for dry and sensitive skin. This is just casue my skin is a bit dehydrated at the moment due to the cold weather and heating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

La Roche-Posay Effaclar K for Oily Skin: Effaclar has been getting great reviews recently. I decided to try the version for oily skin. I’ve been loving La Roche-Posay Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel lately so I’m hoping this product will be great too. It’s paraben-free.

Vichy Liftactive Retinol HA Night and Eyes: I’ve been looking for a retinol eye cream. I had a sample of the Retinol HA Night and I really liked the effects. Both products have retinol and hyaluronic acid and are paraben-free.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mirifique Beauty
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 13:48:28

    Love Vichy Retinaol HA products and they are reasonably priced as well

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Mar 21, 2013 @ 13:57:56

      That’s great! I hope I will love them too. Yes, because they are sold at the drugstore I sometimes forget that the French skincare brands are actually really good. I’ve been trying to branch out a little bit lately 🙂

      Reply

  2. unfadedbeauty
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 16:32:53

    I’m always looking out for a good, matte neutral eye shadow so I’ll be interested to read how the Illamasqua works out. I did buy Mac’s Vanilla but found it too chalky on me.

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Mar 21, 2013 @ 18:49:59

      Yep, they’re really good for work. I’m going to do a tutorial next week using this eyeshadow so you will be able to see some swatches and photos 🙂

      Reply

      • unfadedbeauty
        Mar 22, 2013 @ 15:33:26

        Excellent, I’ll look at for it.

      • youngforgood
        Mar 30, 2013 @ 19:30:22

        Hi, it took me a while but I finally posted the tutorial. You can see how Illamasqua Justify looks on the eyelids. I’m really impressed with this eyeshadow. It’s really long lasting and pigmented. I think Illamasqua might be my next favourite brand.

  3. bepcity
    Mar 22, 2013 @ 02:10:16

    Thanks for recommending that site! I’ve been interested in a few French products, so I’m checking it out now.

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 15:07:59

      I’m so glad it was useful. I hope you will be able to take advantage of the 1/3 sale. I got my order last week. It arrived quickly and with no problems. They even sent me a nail fail as a free gift 🙂

      Reply

  4. pinksterstyle
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 13:26:53

    Hey! Loved the haul! I nominated you for a tag on my blog:
    http://pinksterstyle.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  5. The Posh Blog
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 09:07:30

    Oh nice picks! I’m going to look into that sponge. XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

