5 Face Cleansers Mini Review

I am trying to find a new cleanser after using REN’s ClearCalm 3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser for almost two years (review here). As much as I love this product, I thought it would be good to see what else is out there. Here are five of the cleansers I’ve tried in the past couple of months.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 face cleansers minis and deluxe samples

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Essential Care Creamy Coconut Cleanser

I love Essential Care’s Organic Rose Moisturiser (review here) so when I saw that they have a coconut facial cleanser I thought it might be worth a try. This product is free from all toxic chemicals, including parabens, is biodegradable, not tested on animals and has 88% of organically grown ingredients. It doesn’t smell of coconuts, which is a bit of a letdown for me. It doesn’t really smell of anything. It’s a light cleanser and I it doesn’t remove makeup particularly well. It also doesn’t lather much. It kind of disappears. It’s not a bad product, just not something I would go for again.

DHC Deep Cleansing Oil

DHC is one of the most popular Japanese brands in the West. I used to buy a lot of their product in Japan. They were always of a very high quality. This is one of their bestsellers. Cleansing oils are a bit different from normal cleansers. They are designed mostly to remove makeup. The trick with this product is to use in with dry hands. It’s a bit similar to MAC’s oil makeup remover which I also really like. It’s a really good cleanser. It leaves your skin deeply cleansed and moisturised. If you haven’t tried DHC’s Deep Cleansing Oil, I would recommend it.

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser

This one has a cult following. I, personally, don’t like it all that much, mainly because of the strong camphor and eucalyptus smell and the fact that it contains parabens. It works well as a cleanser. It comes with a cloth that you use to remove the cleanser with while gently exfoliating the skin. I tried using the cloth for a while but I find it a bit time-consuming to wash it every couple of days. It’s a good product, there is no denying: it removes makeup well, it doesn’t dry out my skin and it leaves it feeling nice and clean. I understand why people love it so much although, personally, I don’t think I will be repurchasing it.

Sophyto Purifying Silken Cleanser

I’ve been loving Sophyto lately. I’m surprised this brand isn’t more famous. It’s a natural, paraben-free brand with really nice ingredients. It was founded in New Forest: a UNESCO Natural World Heritage Site national park in the UK. This cleanser has honey propolis, desert lily, aloe, and hazelnut oil. It’s a thick gel that smells of honey. You can get it from Naturisimo (here). The product was a finalist of the Best Eco Beauty Finalist 2011 CEW Awards. I like it a lot although it doesn’t remove 100% of makeup. But if you use a makeup remover or DHC oil to remove eye makeup first it works really well. It doesn’t lather but it leaves the skin nice and soft. It’s my favourite of the five. If you haven’t tried any of Sophyto’s products, it’s worth giving it a try. It’s a really nice brand.

 Dead Sea Spa Magik Gentle Cleansing Facial Wash

This product leathers well and smells strongly of salt and sea. The down side is that it leaves the skin rather dry. It might be the salt in it. Although it’s paraben-free and cleans well, it leaves the skin feeling tight and dry. I don’t like the consistency either. It’s sort of a whipped paste. Definitely won’t be repurchasing.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Must Have Boxes
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 22:30:17

    Great reviews! I love experimenting with different moisturizers and serums. I’m currently using two different brands.

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

    Reply

  2. Kareen
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 15:40:49

    The Sophyto cleanser sounds great! When were you in Japan? I’m really interested to learn more about Asian products 😀

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Feb 11, 2013 @ 21:28:18

      It’s not bad but not great either. I’m using La Roche-Posay one at the moment. I lived in Japan for 1.5 years in 2009/10. They have some amazing brands there but they’re so difficult to get in Europe.

      Reply

      • Kareen
        Feb 12, 2013 @ 20:13:35

        That’s sooo cool! I wanna go to Japan someday. Also, I’ll be really sad when I leave France and not be able to access french beauty products anymore.

      • youngforgood
        Feb 12, 2013 @ 21:54:04

        I want to go back there. But you have been to some cool places as well. And you worked for Peace Corps!? How cool is that. I like how you describe yourself as a nomad. I kind of feel the same way. Do you think you will go back to the US after Paris?

      • Kareen
        Feb 13, 2013 @ 10:48:04

        You know about the Peace Corps?! That makes me very happy and I don’t even know why! Haha 😀 So… I haven’t mentioned this on my blog yet, but I’m moving back to the U.S. around June. My boyfriend and I have our sights set on California but not sure exactly where yet (fingers crossed for San Francisco). That’s why I need to blog as much about Paris and France and French products while I’m still here. It does make me a bit sad to leave, but at the same time I’m so glad to have gotten this chance to live here for a bit. What about you? For some reason I had the impression you’re based in U.K.

      • youngforgood
        Feb 13, 2013 @ 11:20:53

        It was on your web page : ). I noticed it and I was just very impressed! I work/ am interested in international relations so this is something that I can relate to an admire :D. I’m sure US will be exciting too. Plus you can always come back to France for a visit. I can understand that it’s a far and probably quite expensive to fly to France from California. Actually, when I left Japan I was sure I will be back soon but so far no luck. In Europe everything is so close and it’s so easy to travel. Yes, I live in London now. I’ve been living in the UK on and off for 8 years.

      • Kareen
        Feb 13, 2013 @ 14:25:45

        I was surprised that you know about Peace Corps because when I tell people here about it they don’t seem to know what it is. But since you work in international relations it makes sense you would hear about it. Anyway, I think it would be very interesting to hear about your international experiences as you seem very well-traveled. As for me, I want to keep working in beauty and keep my beauty connections with France so I’ll have to take regular “business trips” back here! 😀

      • youngforgood
        Feb 15, 2013 @ 14:25:09

        Good luck with that! Sounds very exciting.

Leave a Reply

