Ole Henriksen Enlighten Me Skin Tone Corrector Brightening Serum Review

Ole Henriksen is one of the skincare brands I always wanted to try. They are a natural, paraben-free brand form the USA with Danish roots. The brand prides itself on being ahead of ingredients fads. The founder, Ole, studied chemistry in London and runs an exclusive spa in LA. On his website he writes: “Conceptualizing and developing products has always been my favorite hobby. For many years the most popular products at my spa were custom blended by me in small batches”. Nice 🙂

EnlightenMeSerum

Enlighten me serum

Enlighten me serum

The products are not cheap which is why it was a bit daunting for me to buy one on a whim without trying it first. Especially that there wasn’t one product that really stood out to me.

I bought this serum on sale from Beautyexpert.co.uk. It was reduce by 65% so it was only £16.45. I thought it was a great opportunity to try it out.

First impressions

I like to look and the packaging of the brand. It is colourful and has this Ikea-like cheerful, homely Scandinavian feel, probably due to Ole’s heritage.

The serum is supposed to even out skin tone and lighten skin. The main active ingredients according to their webpage are THC, lactic acid, lemon and mulberry extracts. This is quite surprising as THC is one of the main ingredients of cannabis. Looking at the ingredients list I’m guessing it’s a cosmetic ingredient from of a similar chemical structure. Other ingredients are supposed to stimulate collagen production (Vitamin C), exfoliate and renew skin (lactic acid), proliferating skin cells (lemon extract) and fade pigmentation/ brown spots (mulberry extract – natural alternative to chemical fading ingredients).

In consistency it’s quite runny, although thicker than water. You need to be careful when you press the pump applicator cause it has a tendency to dispense much more product than you need. In fact, the applicator reminds me of MAC’s Pro Longwear Concealer. The one everyone complained about as it was impossible to get the right amount of product. This applicator isn’t as bad but you really have to be careful with it.

The serum isn’t greasy and absorbs nicely. I apply it at night and follow up with a light moisturiser.

It definitely doesn’t give the instant ‘plumped up’ effect I came to know and love having used retinol serums (for instance my beloved Filorga Meso, review here). I think I’m a bit spoiled now by Liquid Gold and retinol-based products. I’m expecting immediate results from serum, which by definition work in the long-term and improve skin’s overall condition and appearance. As for the brightening effect, it’s too early to tell. My skin does look brighter after the first two weeks but I write an update when I finish the bottle.

Overall it’s a nice product and I’m glad that I got to try it. Although I will probably revert to using retinol products I will stick with this serum for now. I hope it will lighten my pigmentation spots.

It retails for £47 (for example from Beautyexpert here)

Coming up:

Monday: China Glaze Whirled Away

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kareen
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 16:50:26

    I love serums! This one looks great–I would have probably tried it too at that discount. By the way, I am so curious to know what THC is doing in cosmetics! Going to look it up now haha

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Jan 26, 2013 @ 23:44:50

      I love serums too! What is your favourite? If you find something on THC please let me know. I looked online but couldn’t find anything. I’m pretty sure it’s not the same THC but then you never know…

      Reply

      • Kareen
        Jan 28, 2013 @ 11:53:24

        Actually, right now I’m using Andalou Naturals turmeric serum. And it’s really doing a good job of brightening my complexion. But I have some brown spots that I want to get rid of so now I’m looking for serums with Vitamin C. I have my eye on Skinceuticals CE Ferulic serum but it is crazy expensive!!

      • youngforgood
        Jan 28, 2013 @ 22:31:34

        The turmeric one looks amazing. I don’t think it’s available in the UK but will keep an eye out for this brand. Turmeric is one of the most beneficial plants. I’m sure it’s great. Are you going to review this serum on your blog? This brand looks really nice. I’m going to try to find some of their product here.
        I haven’t heard about the other one either. You are right – it’s a bit expensive! :). Plus it got mixed reviews on makeupalley. I recently tried Paula’s Choice retinol serum that is supposed to reduce dark spots and rejuvenate the skin. It’s less pricey although contains a fair amount of silicones. I will do a review of this soon.

      • Kareen
        Jan 29, 2013 @ 20:35:06

        Hi, yes I love Andalou Naturals!! I’ve been using their Daily Defense Lotion and this is the first time I’ve tried their serum, but I can really see a difference! I ordered mine from the U.S. and got my family to send it out to me. But I hear you can find their products on iherb.com and they deliver internationally. I am going to do a product review on that soon–and I will let you know when I do. Do you have twitter? I’ve heard Paula’s Choice is also a really good brand. I am going to look into their retinol serum now! Thanks for the recommendations!

      • youngforgood
        Jan 30, 2013 @ 23:29:53

        That’s really handy to have family in the US : ). There’s a lot of stuff in the US I’d like to try. I will look out for your review! If it helps I will be posting a comparative review of all Paula’s Choice serums. I’m actually not that sure about them. They sound great on paper but in reality they’re a bit strange. I don’t have a twitter but I’m on facebook under youngforgood and have an email as well.

      • Kareen
        Jan 31, 2013 @ 14:18:17

        Okay! I will find you on Facebook so it’s easier for me to know when you’ve updated. Really looking forward to your review of the Paula’s Choice serums too.

  2. lista de emails
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 21:45:34

    your post is so valuable for me, it will help in lots of ways.

    Reply

  3. lista de emails
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 13:16:22

    nice article. i am a huge fan of your work and i’m always coming here to see what’s new. thanks.

    Reply

  4. lista de emails
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 17:54:50

    i love this blog. i will be looking forward your next post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

