How to Lose Weight Without Going on a Diet: Part 1.

Do you spend a lot of time at the gym and don’t see any results? Do you stay on a diet and can’t lose weight?

Like many people I can gain weight very quickly when I don’t pay attention to what I eat. However, I can also lose weight very quickly. Over the past few years I have lost 8-10 kg twice (obviously it would have been better and healthier to maintain my weight throughout this time). To achieve this I worked with a number of personal trainers and nutritionists. As private consultations are expensive I decided to summarise what I’ve learned and share it with you. I’d like to point out that I myself am not an expert but am sharing the knowledge gathered while working with experts as well as tips and tricks that worked for me personally. However, I do believe that by applying this method ANYONE CAN LOSE A LOT OF WEIGHT without much problem. There is only one condition- you have to like to exercise.

This post will have 3 parts: 1) general overview and an explanation on why certain types of exercises are better than others, 2) how to exercise to achieve optimal results, 3) what to eat while training to achieve optimal results.

Fat vs muscle. Image from FitNish.co.za

5 lb of fat vs 5 lb of muscle. Image from FitNish.co.za

So when I say ‘lose weight’ I’m implying two separate processes: becoming visibly slimmer and losing actual body weight. It’s important to notice the difference between the two. While using this method I first lose dress sizes (become slimmer) and then drop body weight. I will explain further on.

This method is not a secret. It’s based on a combination of good exercises and nutrition. Again, it’s important to understand that just because you spend a lot of time at the gym you won’t necessarily lose weight. A couple of years ago I got very discouraged after going to the gym 4 times per week for a couple of months and seeing very limited results which gave me the initial impulse to research this subject. Also, just because you eat less you won’t necessarily lose weight. Under certain circumstances eating less can actually increase your body fat!

1 Becoming slimmer. Changing your body measurements. Myths about muscles.

So the secret to becoming slimmer, and the beginning of the whole process, is developing muscles. Women are often afraid to gain muscles cause they think it will make them look masculine. This is not the case. I specifically asked one of my personal trainers about this. It’s very hard for a woman to build the kind of muscles bodybuilders have. It takes a lot of effort, time and planning. It won’t happen just because you use resistance machines. Even for a guy developing muscles is a lot of work. When you develop muscles you will look toned and slimmer – you will not look like Arnold! There are two reasons why muscles are important for becoming slimmer: 1) the type of exercise used to develop muscles, and 2) because muscle take up less space than fat.

Exercises that develop muscles.

There are two types of exercise:

1) Aerobic exercises: all cardio, running, ski machines. They help to increase cardiovascular endurance.

2) Anaerobic exercises: resistance machines, sprinting, intensive interval training. They help to increase muscle strength – build muscles.

The whole point behind this ‘method’ is to use the latter type. Here is why. Anaerobic training increases the resting metabolic rate (the rate with which your body burns calories) in the 24h after exercising much more than aerobic ones. Result: within a 24h cycle you will burn much more calories after 1h of anaerobic training than after 1h of aerobic one. But that’s only the beginning.  

Furthermore, by using anaerobic training you can burn MORE fat in LESS time than with aerobic training. “Repeatedly, studies show that more fat loss is achieved in high-intensity programs that use 20 to 25 minutes of training time than those that use 45 or 50 minutes of aerobic training time.” (more here)

 Muscles take up less space than fat.

1kg of muscles takes much less space than 1kg of fat. It’s a much more dense tissue. For that reason when you develop muscles (turn your fat into muscles) you will be visibly smaller and slimmer while your weight might not necessarily drop by much.

2. Losing weight. What your muscles do when you rest.

Muscles are good not only because they take up less space but also because they work more. “Research shows that 1 lb. of muscle burns seven to 10 calories per day, while 1 lb. of fat burns only 2 to 3 calories, according to the American Council on Exercise.” (more here)

However, more importantly, and I’m speaking for personal experience here, once I developed muscles I found it much harder to gain weight. I mentioned at the beginning of this post that I gained and lost about 10 kg twice in the past couple of years. This was due to a change in my daily routine and just generally letting myself go. Not a good thing, I admit, but it helped me to notice something. If I start eating more (for example more sugary foods) when I’m not in shape, I gain weight almost immediately. Within weeks I can see the weight increase. When I start indulging my sweet tooth when I’m in shape, I do not gain weight so quickly. Actually it takes me a good couple of months to gain weight. This means there is more room for errors!

So we want to keep muscles and get rid of fat. Again, anaerobic exercises are better as they burn 100% of fat while aerobic ones burn 75% of fat and 25% muscles (more here)

This also helps to become slimmer but we want to keep muscles as they help to drop weight in the longer term. In the part 2 of this post I will explain how to achieve this in the fastest and most effective way.

 

Coming up:

Monday: How to lose weight without going on a diet. Part 2

Friday: How to lose weight without going on a diet. Part 3

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aubrey
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 06:22:53

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to
    your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

    Reply

  2. Dorthea
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 09:16:34

    Great post! We are linking to this great article on our website.

    Keep up the great writing.

    Reply

  3. Primal Burn Fat Burner System Reviews
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 07:53:28

    Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the
    same topics? Many thanks!

    Reply

  4. The Face Fitness Formula
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 10:36:02

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am
    really impressed to read all at single place.

    Reply

  5. Does 31 Day Fat Loss Cure Work
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 12:09:15

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for
    intense fat loss diet

    Reply

  6. Keisha
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 17:44:47

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo
    News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

    Reply

  7. Salvatore
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 18:06:03

    I do not even understand how I ended up right here, however
    I assumed this post used to be good. I do
    not understand who you are but definitely you are
    going to a famous blogger for those who are not already.

    Cheers!

    Reply

  8. anti cellulite
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 02:31:06

    Hi I am so excited I found your webpage, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post
    and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

    Reply

  9. kurus
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 08:28:37

    I need to to thank you for this very good read!! I absolutely loved every bit of
    it. I have got you book-marked to look at
    new stuff you post…

    Reply

  10. How To Lose Weight In A Week
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 21:16:17

    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to
    revisit once again since i have bookmarked it. Money and
    freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to
    help others.

    Reply

  11. Refugio
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 23:57:52

    Awesome! Its genuinely remarkable piece of writing, I have got much clear idea concerning from this
    piece of writing.

    Reply

  12. how to lose weight
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 01:32:00

    Incredible story there. What occurred after?

    Take care!

    Reply

  13. gratis sexdate
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 08:12:51

    awesome weblog over here! Thanks for posting…

    Reply

  14. Rozella
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 09:17:21

    Wonderful article! This is the type of info
    that are meant to be shared around the internet.
    Shame on the seek engines for not positioning this submit higher!
    Come on over and discuss with my web site . Thank you =)

    Reply

  15. http://Www.pikavippii.com
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 07:20:29

    I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty
    worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Reply

  16. muscle
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 10:19:30

    I am now not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time studying more or working out more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Reply

  17. Sandra
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 18:10:01

    It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed people for this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Jan 29, 2013 @ 16:44:28

      Yes, I agree. There is a lot of mixed information on this subject and personal trainers are reluctant to share their knowledge (guess cause they would have less clients if they did). It’s really hard to find reliable information on this subject. Which is why I think it’s good when people simply share their experiences and what worked for them.

      Reply

  18. Oralia Helmke
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 12:00:26

    I’d forever want to be update on new posts on this site , bookmarked ! .

    Reply

  19. Harley Delbrocco
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 23:31:10

    great post. Ne’er knew this, thanks for letting me know.

    Reply

  20. Toronto Divorce Lawyer
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 21:11:07

    Admiring the dedication you put into your site and in depth information you provide.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information.

    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

    Reply

  21. Otha Yokoyama
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 19:04:36

    I simply want to say I’m all new to blogging and definitely enjoyed you’re website. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You really have remarkable writings. Cheers for revealing your blog.

    Reply

  22. how to lose weight fast in a week at home
    Feb 07, 2013 @ 00:02:19

    What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I liked this blog post. It was practical. Keep on posting!

    Reply

  23. family guy action figures series 6
    Feb 07, 2013 @ 16:36:14

    Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

    Reply

  24. http://blog.wellhatched.com
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 15:08:10

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site
    is excellent, let alone the content!

    Reply

  25. Trackback: Ziba's First Award Nomination! | Ziba Blog
  26. http://eatmorekale.webs.com
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 10:12:17

    I need to to thank you for this good read!! I certainly loved every bit of
    it. I have got you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post…

    Reply

  27. test
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 09:17:26

    Fine way of describing, and good paragraph to take information regarding my presentation topic,
    which i am going to present in university.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

