SUPER 24/7 Wrinkle Protection Set Review

Happy New Year everyone! Wishing you nothing but happiness and love for 2013.

 

If you’re into beauty and skincare you must have heard of Dr. Nicholas Perricone. Dermatologist (internship at Yale), author, nutritionist. A firm believer in a holistic approach to beauty and health.

His skincare line, Perricone MD, has a cult following. It’s one of those iconic, amazing, premium brands, supposedly beloved by many A-listers and Hollywood stars. Just as Creme de la Mer can set you back anything between £50 and £500 most of Perricone MD skincare ranges between £50 and £400. Less pricy products such as No Foundation Foundation, and No Concealer Concealer are quite popular in the UK. I have tried the concealer but am not a fan. It’s a good product but personally I need much more coverage.

SUPER 24/7 set

SUPER 24/7 set

SUPER

SUPER is Dr Perricone’s ’younger’ skincare line designed on the basis of the same principles and philosophy as the main line but much more accessible. The ingredients are different and ‘simpler’ than in the main line but the products are arranged in the same fashion, which makes SUPER a good introduction to the main group of products.

The SUPER line is named so after superfoods, a group of foods which contain an exceptionally high number of nutrients, beneficial vitamins and antioxidants. They are the main active ingredients used in all SUPER products. These superfoods include: ginger, turmeric, olives, apples, watercress whisks, chia, yogurt, coconut, acai berries, melon, red algaes, and chilli.

SUPER was introduced in the UK earlier this year. It took a while before I got round to trying it. Couple of months ago Boots had a 50% sale across all SUPER products and I decided to go big and bought the 24/7 wrinkle set.

 

Package

What is it?

This set is designed to reduce fine lines and wrinkles. The main active ingredient is red algae, a natural source of astaxanthin. Astaxanthin is “a collagen- and elastin-supporting antioxidant known to increase moisture and protect against dehydration” (SUPER web page). What can you expect from Dr. Perricone? First of all amazing quality, no parabens, artificial, and harmful ingredients. And also an innovative skincare regime and approach. Just as in the main line, the SUPER line includes two anti-aging serums (day-time and night-time one) and an ‘activator’.

This set contains:

  1. Firming Activator: treatment preparation. An exfoliating liquid that helps the serums to penetrate the skin, seals in moisture and activates ingredients. It takes a bit of getting used to. It contains astaxanthin and glycolic acid.
  2. Crinkle Eraser: a day-time firming serum with astaxanthin, benzyl benzoate, glycolic acid, and green tea.
  3. Night Recharge: a night-time brightening and smoothing serum. It contains astaxanthin and retinol.
The 3 products

The 3 products

What I Liked About it?

I liked the fact that the set includes a day-time and night-time serums. I always thought it makes sense to use two different serums in the morning and in the evening. It’s nice to have them both in one set.

I liked the activator. I haven’t seen a similar product before. As far as I know it’s a Perricone-specific thing.

I liked the effects. I use a number of different products (including Alpha-H Liquid Gold) so it might not be down to that. But I have noticed that my skin look good and healthy during the treatment. 

I liked using the day-time serum under my daily moisturiser and make-up. It was an added layer of protection against harsh London air.

I, obviously, love the ingredients and philosophy behind the product: I’m crazy about superfoods in general and using them in skincare seems to be a logical next step. After living in Japan I started to believe that algae and seaweeds are an unparalleled source of minerals, vitamins etc.

What I didn’t Like?

The product didn’t wow me. This was 3 products used together for a couple of months. The results should be clear and visible. They weren’t.

What concerns me the most are the containers. The night-time serum contains retinol. As mentioned many times before retinol is a substance sensitive to light and air. Although many brands sell facial creams and serums containing retinol in normal pots, they are to a large extent ineffective after a couple of days due to the chemical processes that occur when retinol is exposed to light. Containers in this set are definitely not suitable for retinol-based products. On the other hand Dr Perricone is an excellent brand so it’s hard to believe that they would sell a product with a design flaw.

The activator ended much quicker than the two serums even though I only used one pump.

Final Ruling

I liked this set and used up all three products. I liked that it contained two different serums for different purposes and parts of the day. I liked the effects and I remember having less break outs during the time of the treatment. On the other hand, I’m not sure how effective the retinol in the night-time serum was. My skin wasn’t as ‘plumped up’ as it normally is after using retinol products.

Still, I really enjoyed this product. Not the least because it’s by Dr Nicholas Perricone. I would very much like to try the Perricone MD line in the future.

I don’t really have a negative comment about this set. It’s natural, has great ingredients. Still, I don’t think I will be repurchasing unless it’s on sale again. On the whole, I think I’d rather go with Filorga.

The set costs £59.50 at Boots (here).

Coming up:

Friday: The Best Eye Cream Ever

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marisaporter
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 00:13:57

    Unfortunately a lot of companies, even really good ones, even really pricey ones, will do things that make you raise your eyebrows and say, why? The jar thing is totally true, and a lot of holistic ingredients, such as antioxidants and retinol are light and air sensitive. I’m reading a really really good book right now on the subject and I can’t help telling everyone about it! It’s Don’t Go To the Cosmetics Counter Without Me by Paula Begoun and it has saved me so much money and cleared so many mysteries up for me! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Jan 02, 2013 @ 21:33:45

      Happy New Year to you too!
      Yes, this is very true. I will read this book! Thank you for telling me about it. I’m convinced that we’re not aware of many things as consumers. It’s good to make an effort to find out.

      Reply

  2. lista de email
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 03:22:08

    nice post! i have read your article and it is really amazing.

    Reply

  3. Lucio Feerst
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 10:38:57

    astaxanthin is a great food supplement, i always take it to enhance my body heath.”

    Please do head to our new online site
    http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/is-thrush-contagious/

    Reply

  4. lista de emails
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 10:48:37

    thanks for such a great post and the review, i am totally impressed!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Perricone MD Anti-Ageing Protective Trio Haul/First Review | Young For Good

Leave a Reply

