Japanese Drugstore Makeup Brands: Integrate from Shiseido

When you visit Japan there is a wide array of gifts to choose from for your friends and family. You can get a samurai sword or a kimono. For comic book lovers anime or manga is always a good choice. However, when it comes to buying Japanese cosmetics things get a bit more complicated.

This is caused by a couple of things. 1) Japanese products are made for Asian skin types. A great majority of Japanese skincare products are designed to whiten the skin (big thing for Asian girls). No everyone needs that. 2) Japanese cosmetics can get pretty expensive. 3) The description is often only available in Japanese so you don’t always know what you’re buying. On the plus side, Japanese products are usually of very high quality and many of their drugstore brands match or exceed the quality of our high end products.

Shiseido Integrate quads

Shiseido Integrate quads

We all know and love Shiseido. It’s an amazing high end brand with great skincare and equally fantastic makeup range. But did you know that in Japan Shiseido has a drugstore makeup line? It’s called Integrate. I used many of their products and was never disappointed.

Brown quad

Brown quad

Pink quad

Pink quad

Above are two eye shadow quads. I don’t know if those shades have names as the description is only in Japanese. They come in a plastic box with a paint-by-numbers-like instructions on where to apply each of the colours. They are pigmented and really long-lasting! I often don’t even use a primer with these shadows. The colours in each quad complement each other well and look quite striking on the eyelid. The only negative comment I have is that the white in both quads is a bit too powdery.

Swatches

Swatches

Brown quad swatch

Brown quad swatch

Pink quad swatch

Pink quad swatch

And here is how it looks on my eyes

And here is how it looks on my eyes

And one more with different light

And one more with different light

If you’re travelling to Japan and want to pick up something from their drugstores I would highly recommend these eye shadows. I had them for 2 years now and they are one of my favourites. It’s a Shiseido quality for less than £7!

Coming up:

Friday: Made in Japan Week. Introducing Vise

Monday: Simple Christmas Mani

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anonymousmallu
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 16:34:43

    I loved the brown quad.

    Reply

  2. iispixiebeader
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 18:11:17

    I love this post! The quads are really pretty. When my daughter was having serious acne problems we found out abut BB Cream. I don’t leave home without it now. It was a bit funny because I bought it at a large Korean store by my house. The lady didn’t think I was serious..so she just blinked..then I showed her what we needed and she was so sweet and helpful. Plus, she took money off and gave us a ton of samples.
    Thanks!

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Feb 02, 2013 @ 19:55:28

      Thanks so much! I hope your daughter’s acne gets better. I struggled with acne myself a while ago so I can imagine how it feels. Asian beauty products are really good and a lot of them work well on Western skin types too 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

