Hollywood Cult Product – Glamglow, an Honest Review

There has been so much hype around this product! I wasn’t going to buy it but it was on sale for £31 so I thought it’s worth a try. I’ve been using it once a week for the past month and have mixed feelings about it.

Hype

This is advertised as celebrities’ favourite. A real Hollywood cult product that gives you ‘camera ready’ skin (so does a face covered with a thick layer of makeup – as an amateur photographer I can say that the camera sees things differently than the naked eye). Nina Dobrev from Vampire Diaries is a fan and she has flawless skin. So are supposedly Jennifer Aniston, Jay-Z, and Miley Cyrus. And the list goes on. Just read this article in the Forbes (here). However, online reviews of this product are mixed. People say it’s too harsh, doesn’t work and dries out in the pot.

First Impressions

The thing that struck me most was how oversized the box was compared to the actual product. A bit unnecessary in my opinion. I paid for 30 ml, I know I’m getting 30 ml, no point trying to convince me I’m getting more than I paid for.

The box and the jar

The box and the jar

Why is This So Bloody Expensive?

It has mud base from the South of France Mediterranean Sea, volcanic rock, patent pending TEAOXI continuous time-release technology and pieces of tea leafs. It has Super-Antioxidants and other ‘super’ ingredients (it actually says so on the box…). It is vegan and cruelty-free. Although I’m not sure if that’s true. Like with the packaging this product is full of lies.

A horrible marketing trick they used: it says paraben-free and in small print it says 99.7. You would never pay attention to this number but in fact it means that 0.3% of the products are parabens. Which is a normal amount. Every product is paraben-free in more than 90% ! I hate when companies use such cheap marketing tricks.

GlamglowInside

Using the Product

I put a thin layer on and gently massage it in. The product dries into a stiff hard mask. The green tea leafs do fall off, as many reviews said, and they don’t really do much. The mask tingles at first but this sensation goes away quite quickly and when you wash it off it gently exfoliates your skin. No surprise given that the product’s full name is actually ‘Glamglow Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask Super Sexy Super Radiant Skin’.

The mask dries on your face

The mask dries on your face

It dries gradually

It dries gradually

Until it's fully dry

Until it’s fully dry

What It Does to Your Face

The list of benefits described on the package goes on and on. It’s a facial in a jar and you should see the effects for the next 2 days. Personally, I don’t see much difference. It is a really nice product. I must admit, I do like it a lot. I feel that my skin is deeply cleansed and exfoliated. Perhaps it also helps to keep my skin young and healthy in the long run. However, I don’t see why there is so much hype around this product. While I enjoy using it, the results are gone by next morning and I don’t see a noticeable difference.

So here is a list of results from the box and my opinion:

–       Leaves skin noticeably radiant and glowing NO

–       Activates moisturising collagen synthesis MAYBE hard to judge

–       Provides gentle resurfacing exfoliation YES

–       Helps to leave skin smoother, brighter and softer YES

–       Provides tighter skin texture and tighter pores NO

–       Helps to provide a more youthful appearance NO

–       Absorbs impurities without removing natural oils YES

–       Helps to protect against free radical damage MAYBE

Side note: in the time I’ve been using this I started to break out again. I don’t know if this is related but this product definitely doesn’t prevent breakouts.

Before using Glamglow

Before using Glamglow

Just after - not really that different

Just after – not really that different

Final Ruling

I like this product. I like how ‘clean’ yet moisturised my face is. However, what I think I like most about it is how it makes me feel. And that’s a result of marketing techniques and branding of this product. It makes me feel ‘special’ cause I’m using the same product as the Hollywood elite, the most influential, most glamorous and most beautiful. And that’s not really something I’m willing to pay £50 for.

I will continue using this product. Yet, like with many uber-hyped products I think my expectations were a bit too high and as a result I do feel disappointed. With false marketing and average results it’s the quintessence of Hollywood. Form over substance.

 

Normally for £49.99. At the moment also available for £39.99 (here). I would advise you to wait for January sales. I got mine for £31.

Coming up:

Friday: This Works Sleep Balm Review

Monday: Botanics Semi-Permanent Hair Colour Review

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mspsb
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 22:32:46

    Great review.

    Reply

  2. Kareen
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:35:50

    This is such a great review! I’m glad I took the time to really read through it.

    First of all, that is sooo bloody expensive! I don’t care if Angelina Jolie uses it on her butt, I would never pay that mach for a mud mask. It’s total rubbish.

    Second of all, is that really the full name of it? ‘Glamglow Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask Super Sexy Super Radiant Skin’. Now this is the first time that I’ve heard of this product so I don’t know where all their marketing has been going.

    And third, I really like the before and after photo. You can really see a difference. Your skin definitely looks brighter and softer in the after photo. And I would even say it tightened your skin texture and pores.

    In any case, great job on this review!

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Dec 25, 2012 @ 00:42:30

      Awww. Thanks!

      Yes, it’s REALLY expensive for what it is. I know exactly what you mean. And the marketing behind it is insane.

      I still don’t know if I will repurchase this or not. I can see a difference after I use it but I don’t think it does anything for my skin in the long term. So it’s more of a beautifying product than a skincare one. I think I rather invest in an anti-aging serum (e.g. from Filorga) than this. Also there are many really good mud masks out there. Many of them without parabens.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Oops, I did it again… | Young For Good

Leave a Reply

