A Perfect Foundation for Oily Skin – Naked Skin by Urban Decay

I must have tested dozens of foundations over the past couple of months! As much as I wanted to stick to tinted moisturisers, I feel like I need a little bit more coverage.

My top 3 choices were:

1)      Urban Decay Naked Skin Liquid Foundation

2)      Givenchy Eclat Matissime Foundation

3)      Trish McEvoy Even Skin Foundation

Naked by UD

Naked by UD

Here how this foundation looks in the evening after all day with no touch ups: natural, not too shinny and almost perfect!

It took me forever to narrow it down but I am now ready to make a choice and write this review. I still haven’t purchased a new foundation but that’s just because I have been trying out different shades (I recently started self-tanning, see here, and am figuring out how dark I want to go).

All three products are ‘second skin’ foundations. They are very light and oil-free. They are all very good products which is why it was so hard to choose the best one.

Coverage

All three products are quite sheer and give a natural finish. The Even Skin foundation has the least coverage of the three. The other two have better coverage to start with and are buildable. They cover my freckles quite well.

Consistency and Application

Although all three products are liquid foundations there are clear differences. Naked Skin is a thick fluid. It applies as you would expect with any light liquid foundation. Eclat Matissime is a bit lighter and more runny in consistency. It applies very easily and feels super light on the skin. Even Skin Foundation has a really strange consistency. When I tried it in the store it looked very watery. However, when I got a sample it separated after a day or two: there is a thick paste at the bottom and water on top. Definitely one of those foundations you need to shake before each use. Still, even when blended it is too watery which makes it really difficult to apply.

 How it Looks When You First Apply it

Naked Skin looks perfect, maybe a tad on the heavier side. It does stick to dry patches on my nose a little bit and makes them look more flaky than they actually are. This happens with almost all foundation so no surprises here. It disappears throughout the day as the skin gets oilier. Still, this foundation gives an instant matte finish and a very ‘put together’ look. Eclat Matissime applies like a dream! It doesn’t stick to dry patches and blends easily. But it gives more dewy finish, far from matte. It’s definitely for people who prefer that ‘just-got-back-from-the-beach’ look. Even Skin is barely visible and leaves a bit of a sticky residue. Not a fan.

How it Looks After 8h

This is where Naked Skin really separates itself from the crowd. It really does stay matte. I hardly need to powder my face throughout the day. Although the product description mentions demi-matte finish, I find that this foundation controls shine like no other. It’s not a miracle product but there is a clear difference between this one and the other two. Eclat Matissime requires several touch ups and has the tendency to settle in the pores and lines. Even Skin seems to evaporate after a couple of hours.

Colour Selection

Again, with 18 shades Naked Skin is a clear winner. Eclat Matissime has 6 shades. Shade 4 is the closest to my skin colour. The only thing is that it has a very strong beige or gray undertone. It makes my skin look ashy and a bit tired. Even Skin has only three shades. Although this product is so sheer that it almost doesn’t matter what colour you use.

Parabens?

Urban Decay is the only popular, high street brand that consistently does not use parabens in their products. I don’t feel this brand gets the love it deserves. It is really difficult to find paraben-free, pigmented and long-lasting make up. Eclat Matissime is supposedly a paraben-free foundation. There are no parabens on the ingredients list but it also doesn’t say it’s paraben-free. In the UK, and probably in other countries, companies are not required by law to list all ingredients. If an ingredient constitutes less than 1 or 2 percent, it doesn’t need to be listed. Therefore I’m not convinced. Even Skin has parabens.

Here is my comparison

Final ruling

If Eclat Matissime came in more shades it would have been more difficult to choose. I still think I would prefer Naked Skin just because of the matte finish. For me this is a fantastic foundation. It is light, gives great coverage, is long-lasting, paraben-free, and stays matte throughout the day. It’s a dream come true for someone with oily skin. And with 18 shades you can’t go wrong. I am really impressed. I always knew Urban Decay has great eye shadows, setting sprays and eye primers but I didn’t know their complexion products were good too!

In addition, it’s only £27 for 30ml (£5.50 less than Eclat Matissime and £18 less than Even Skin!)

Coming up:

Friday: Essential Care Organic Rose Moisturiser Review

Monday: Glamglow Mud Mask Review

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wilford Chrusciel
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 11:07:09

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i’m happy to show that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot without a doubt will make sure to don’t fail to remember this web site and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

    Reply

  2. lista de email
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 19:22:48

    great way of exposing your ideas, you made a good job in this website.

    Reply

  3. lista de emails
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 18:21:58

    great site.

    Reply

  4. lista de emails
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 10:20:08

    thanks a lot for sharing this. heard about something like this for the first time.

    Reply

  5. lista de email
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 16:43:05

    write more often please.

    Reply

  6. lista de emails
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 15:45:02

    this article is really a great help especially to a newbie like me. great one.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Hero Product: MUFE HD Foundation | Young For Good

Leave a Reply

