Smashbox Limitless 15 Hour Wear Cream Shadow Review

About two months ago I wrote a post comparing Benefit Creaseless Cream shadows and MAC Paintpots (here). I talked about how much I liked the fact that Benefit shadows do not crease even after 16 h. However, I did mention that the colour selection was rather poor. Recently I got Smashbox Limitless 15 Hour Wear Cream Shadow in Quartz. It’s a pale shimmery pink-champagne shadow. It’s quite a light shadow. It’s gives a hint of colour with a lot of shimmer. But it looks very nice on the eyelids and it’s a perfect shadow to wear every day.

Quartz

Quartz swatch

Over the past couple of weeks my go-to look was this cream shadow with a bit of MAC’s Era in the crease and with MAC’s Duck Powerpoint Eye Pencil. It’s a delicate and wearable look.

I used Benefit cream shadow and Mac Paintpot as primers. Mainly because they were not the kind of shadows I could use on their own. This Smashbox product is 2-in-1 for me. I use it as a primer under other shadows. Because it’s so shimmer it doesn’t work well under matte colours but it’s perfect for a sparkly evening look. It also looks good just by itself without anything over it and without a primer. I was surprised but this shadow does stay on for 15h. Even on my oily skin. I do not need any touch ups during the day.

After a very long day – no creasing

Again, after about 15h. Still looking good

This product got really bad reviews on makeupalley. And I really don’t know why. I’m very picky when it comes to cream eyeshadows as most products slide off my eyelids after couple of hours. I wear this shadow without a primer and it works awesome. It stays on all day. After about 10h it creases a little bit but as it’s a shimmery shadow it’s not that visible. The only downside is that it’s not strongly pigmented. Again, for me it’s perfect. It’s easy to use. I just put it on with my finger in no time.

I strongly recommend this product. It saves me so much time in the morning.

In the UK you can get Samshbox products at Boots. This comes in a 5g pot and costs £15.

Coming up

Monday: New Foundation Favourite

Leave a Reply

