How to get rid of under-eye dark circles without makeup?

A week ago I wrote a post about concealers I use to cover dark circles (here). Today I’d like to share a tip for reducing or even eliminating dark circles without makeup. This is something I’ve tested myself and know that it works from personal experience! I am a huge health freak. I spend hours reading about natural ways of preventing diseases and it was while reading on this subject that I discovered this method.

You might have heard about using vitamin K to prevent dark circles, either as a food supplement or in skincare products. There are two forms of vitamin K: K1 and K2. K1 can be obtained from many natural food sources. K2 is much more difficult to find. Natto, a Japanese delicacy (if you have ever tried natto you’ll know that delicacy is a term use loosely here) is the best natural source of K2. You can also find it in yellow cheeses, eggs and fermented whole milk products, as well as some meats and fish (e.g. salmon, chicken). Although much more common, K1 is far less effective than K2.

Natto – fermented beans, a good source of K2

So what does K2 do? Well, it has many beneficial properties. According to recent research published by the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition (here) it lowers the risk of developing cancer. K1 was not found to have the same effect. According to other sources we are all at risk of developing K2 deficiency. K2 helps prevent cardiovascular diseases and helps to maintain healthy bones, brain and skin. It is also a powerful anti-oxidant.

Cheese – good source of K2

Vitamin K2 can help reduce dark circles as it takes part in the blood clot formation process. Research conducted by Tsuyoshi Mitsuishi and others (here) published in the Journal of cosmetic Dermatology demonstrated that using a gel containing K2 around the eye area helps to reduce dark circles.

I first tried taking K2 vitamin supplements last winter when my dark circles got really bad. I don’t know if it’s the cold or just me being less tanned but in the wintertime my dark circles get really dark. I noticed a significant improvement after about a week or two. After reading more about K2’s impact on lowering the risk of developing cancer I decided to take it regularly.

I can honestly say – K2 helps to minimise dark circles and puffiness. It makes them less visible and easier to cover up. It’s not going to work overnight – it’s not makeup. Vitamins and supplements work over a period of time but the results are more permanent. Give it a week or two and you should see first signs.

There are many different K2 vitamins available both in stores and online. Holland and Barrett have one for £12.99 (30 capsules). I’m currently using the one from Myvitamins. You can find many more on Amazon.

Myvitamins K2

K2 from Myvitamins

SAFTY NOTE: Although vitamin K2 is not dangerous and it’s difficult to overdose it you still need to be careful and make sure you don’t consume more than your guideline daily amount (GDA). You can find information on online as well as on the back of most K2 vitamin packages. Make sure you read the label. As with everything else you want to use it in a safe way.

Coming up:

Next Monday: Best Anti-aging Serum

Next Thursday: OPI Skyfall The Living Daylights nail poilsh

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marion
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 15:56:30

    I will try this! Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 09:58:23

    Hi, I just found your blog. Thanks a lot for this useful note :). Good work

    Reply

  3. ROKderm
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 23:55:57

    Great tip! I’ll try this as well!

    Reply

  4. Kareen
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 16:55:50

    Great information!! This is the first time I’ve come across this. And my undereye circles are my number one skincare concern right now.

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Jan 26, 2013 @ 23:43:38

      Hope this helps. For some reason they get worse in the winter.

      Reply

      • Kareen
        Jan 28, 2013 @ 11:58:35

        That’s strange… I wonder why? Maybe something happens in the wintertime with the circulation of your blood and the veins in the area under your eyes? For me my under eye circles get worse when I drink too much wine, which happens a lot here in France.

      • youngforgood
        Jan 29, 2013 @ 16:23:51

        I think we’re generally speaking more tired in the winter time. We’re also paler so the dark circles show up more. I just ordered another package of K2. After 2 months I can really see the effects.

  5. Trackback: Ziba's First Award Nomination! | Ziba Blog
  6. 41andcounting
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 21:02:43

    Will definitely give these a try. I have really
    bad dark circles (genetic I think) and even with foundation and concealer they are still visible. I have recently started drinking 2L of water (know i should anyway!) as I read that they can be made worse if you’re dehydrated(which I certainly was)
    Thanks for the post 🙂

    Reply

    • youngforgood
      Mar 02, 2013 @ 18:40:36

      Thank you. Yes, I know how you feel! Every single makeup artist says that nice bright undereye area is the key to a well rested, youthful look yet for those of us with undereye circles it’s almost impossible to achieve. I really hope this one works well for you 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

