Recent MAC favourites: Office Hours and Marilyn Monroe collections

I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with MAC’s limited edition collections. They are a bit of a hit and miss for me. There are times when I want to buy the entire collection and then several months pass by and I don’t see anything exciting. The last one I really enjoyed was the Hello Sailor collection. I love the pro longware bronzers from this collection. I wear Sun Dipped every day. I feel it lasts longer than other bronzers. It really stays on all day. That is why I got very excited when I heard that MAC is bringing out pro longwear blushes in the Office Hours collection. 

Office Hours

I heard a lot of people complaining about the Office Hours collection. Apparently people thought it wasn’t pigmented enough, especially the blushes. I can see why they would say that but I would argue that that’s not necessarily a bad thing for a blush. MAC’s pro longwear blushes have a different consistency than the ones in the permanent collection. They’re softer and creamier. They have almost a cream to powder finish.

I got Stay By Me. It’s a perfect light peachy coral. It looks so natural on the skin: delicate and refreshing without looking like you have too much makeup on. Because it’s not strongly pigmented it’s seriously not possible to apply too much of this blush. So even when you’re in a hurry you won’t overdo it. It goes well with everything as the colour is quite natural. It’s absolutely perfect if, like me, you have a very fair skin but with yellow undertones. It’s also a matte blush which I absolutely adore. I do find that it lasts longer than other blushes although it’s not as good as the Sun Dipped bronzer. I have tried wearing it alone and as a base for other blushes, for example MAC Style which is a warm orange-gold shimmery blush.

The good news is that pro longwear blushes from the Office Hours collection will be added to the permanent collection. They come in standard size – 6g and are available for £19.

MAC Forever Marilyn, MAC Stay By Me

Swatches

MAC's Style, Stay By Me, and Forever Marilyn

MAC’s Style, Stay By Me, and Forever Marilyn

MAC Style, Stay By Me, Forever Marilyn

MAC’s Style (depotted), Stay By Me (bottom right), and Forever Marilyn (top left)

MAC's Stay By Me (top right), and Forever Marilyn (bottom left)

MAC’s Stay By Me (top right), and Forever Marilyn (bottom left)

Marilyn Monroe

My second favourite is a product from the Marilyn Monroe collection – a beauty powder called Forever Marilyn. I love the packaging of this collection, by the way. It’s a very pale peachy pink powder. It’s almost matte with just a tiny bit of shimmer. I’ve been using MAC’s Lightscapade mineralised skinfinish (Reel Sexy collection) as a highlighter. It’s a beige-gold shimmery powder with lilac coloured veins. As it has a lot of shimmer you can’t really use it under your eyes or to highlight the centre of your forehead or your nose. Forever Marilyn is quite a different product. As it is matte you can use it to highlight your cheekbones as well as the under-eye area. It’s a good way to brighten up this area if you’ve got dark under-eye circles and also to set your concealer. It’s also good for an easy ‘Kim Kardashian’ cheekbone contouring look.

It’s available for £23.50 for 10g while the collection is out.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sebastian Kilness
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 08:41:32

    Many thanks to the enthusiasm to offer this sort of fascinating and beneficial advice here. I have examined only handful of most up-to-date posts, but I find them as a fantastic supply for my education and learning needs

    Reply

  2. Bud Mccrossin
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 18:08:35

    incredibly wonderful article, i surely take pleasure in this site, continue to keep on it

    Reply

  3. Jude Caney
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 18:56:52

    This articles or blog posts are performing superb on top of that to packed with terrific specifics. I might be thrilled to hold on returning the following to judge for your brand-new update.

    Reply

  4. Alaine Pitman
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 16:48:01

    I’d must investigate along with you here. Which is not a specific thing I commonly do! I appreciate examining a put up that could make men and women assume. Also, thanks for allowing me to remark!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

