Jurlique Purifying Cleansing Lotion review

And why REN ClearCalm 3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser is better

Having used REN ClearCalm 3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser for 1.5 years, I decided it was time for a change. I was looking for a nighttime cleanser, something that would deeply cleanse my skin and help to remove makeup. I’m one of these people who cleanses their face with a couple of different products each night to make sure it’s clean and ready for a good night’s rest. When I was younger I read somewhere that leftover eye makeup causes premature wrinkles and puffiness. As a result I have never gone to bed with my makeup on and I go out of my way to make sure I remove every last bit of it before going to bed. Hence, a good nighttime cleanser is important.

REN ClearCalm 3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser is a great cleanser. It’s a thick, white, clay-based cleanser. It has a slight medicinal smell. What it lacks in smell it makes up for in effectiveness. It has French Clay and is great for acne-prone skin. It gives this ‘perfectly clean’ feeling without drying out the skin. And it is free from everything that can be harmful for your skin: parabens, sulfates, mineral oil, petrolatum, synthetic fragrance, synthetic colours, T.E.A., D.E.A., glycols, and silicones. My absolute favourite thing about this cleanser is that it removes make up while being gentle and not irritating my eyes: it’s perfect for removing eye makeup. I gently massage it into my eyelashes and leave it in for about 30 seconds. Even if I keep my eyes opened it won’t irritate them! I will definitely be repurchasing it again.

Jurlique is a natural skincare brand that I’ve been wanting to try for a long time. It’s organic, natural, paraben-free and not tested on animals. I’ve decided to try the Purifying Cleansing Lotion for oily skin. It’s supposed to balance the oiliness and remove surface impurities.

In reality it’s a really average product which I don’t quite get. It’s liquid in consistency: a very light, milk-like, non-lathering liquid with a nice flowery scent. So far so good. The thing I absolutely don’t get about this product is that it leaves the skin OILY. And I’m not talking about a film of moisture that you get with some products. I mean seriously OILY, as if you washed your face in oil.

Oil or no oil

I used DHC Deep Cleansing Oil facial cleanser before (a great Japanese brand) as well as a couple of other facial cleansing oils. None of them left my skin feeling so oily. There are two schools of thought when it comes to oily skin – the ‘no-oil’ one and the ‘oil’ one. According to the former, you should only use oil-free products on oily skin as it already produces a lot of sebum. The latter states that using products containing oil can help to moisturise oily skin and prevent it from producing excess sebum. It’s based on the assumption that the skin will somehow sense the oil and be fooled into limiting its sebum production.

Oils can contain many beneficial ingredients such as antioxidants and help to prevent loss of moisture and firmness. Couple of years ago I met a woman who despite being well over 50 had amazing skin. She said she puts a bit of virgin olive oil on a cotton pad and pats it into her face each night. Another example – Dr. Hauschka has an award-winning Normalising Day Oil. I used it for a while instead of a daytime moisturiser. DHC has a facial Olive Virgin Oil which I used as a nighttime moisturiser. It’s quite an interesting concept.

Still, none of the oil facial cleansers, or facial oils that I used left the skin feeling oily. They were all easily absorbed into the skin. My hands weren’t sticky after using them. And that’s my problem with Jurlique’s cleanser: after using this product my hands feel like I’ve just greased a baking tray and my face is dripping with oil. The oil gets all over my konjac sponge when I try to use it and on my towel.

Final ruling

Does this product help to limit sebum production? I don’t know. I haven’t really noticed a difference during the three weeks I’ve been using it. But I’m not sure it’s worth the hustle. It’s taking the whole ‘fight oil with oil’ concept to the extreme. It’s impractical, especially when I’m in a hurry to get ready for work or bed. I’m not impressed and will not be repurchasing. I’m a bit disappointed with the Jurlique.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Derin
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 19:34:47

    I used DHC before. They have a great eyelash conditioner!

    Reply

  2. Hush, Charlotte
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 22:10:08

    I use pure olive oil to remove my makeup. I apply it to dry skin. Swirel it around. Then rinse it. It is so simple & easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

