Cream Eyeshadow Primers: Mac Paint Pot and Benefit Creaseless Cream Eyeshadow

Eyeshadows crease. Even the best ones. It’s just one of those things. If on top of this you have a slightly hooded eye, you know that a good eyelid primer is a must. It’s the difference between having an impeccable makeup all day and having two shadow lines 30 min after leaving the house.

Silicone at the heart of it all

Liquid silicone -based eye primers are quite popular. One of the most well known is the Primer Potion by Urban Decay (contains cyclopentasiloxane – a type of silicone used in cosmetics). Too Faced’s version – Shadow Insurance Anti-Crease Eye Shadow Primer is paraben-free but also contains silicones (cyclopentasiloxane). Similarly, NARS has the Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base (cyclopentasiloxane).

Personally, I’m not a big fan of these products. It’s not that they are not good: I’ve tried the Primer Potion and it works well. It’s just that I don’t like the sticky feeling they give. I find it more difficult to apply and blend eyeshadows after using these products. It’s a matter of preference, I guess. Instead, I use creaseless cream eyeshadows. They also contain silicones but have a creamy texture and aren’t sticky. I find them easier and quicker to apply and they can also be worn on their own on days when I really don’t feel like doing much. They can also brighten your eye area and make the colour of your eyeshadows more intense.

I got Benefit Creaseless Cream Eyeshadow in Recess as a gift with purchase (contain cyclopentasiloxane). I wasn’t too crazy about the greyish, taupe colour so I decided to try it as a primer. When I hit pan I decided to switch to MAC Paint Pots in Soft Ochre (contain Dimethicone and Silica silicones).

MAC Paint Pot and Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow

Comparison

Benefit Cons:

  • Not too crazy about the colour range, lacks a warm, bright natural shade.
  • My first pot dried out very quickly, can get quite flaky.
  • Harder to work with, doesn’t go on as smoothly.

Benefit Pros:

  • Lasts all day! Does not budge.
  • 11 shades to choose from. Recess got discontinued in the UK.

MAC Paint Pot Cons:

  • Can crease.
  • Only 9 shades.

MAC Pain Pot Pros:

  • Some great wearable shades (it’s MAC after all!). Soft Ochre primes and brightens at the same time. Helps to make brighter eyeshadows pop (e.g. NARS Ramatuelle trio).
  • Goes on smoothly and blends easily.

Final ruling

After 10h – Shadows used MAC Satin Taupe and Jaunty (limited edition)

After 12h – Shadow used MAC Cloudy Afternoon

They are both good products. But if you want something that will not fail you and won’t budge after 8h of work, lunch in the sun, 40 min in a tube on the way home and an evening outing – go for Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadows. They are slightly better.

I’m not too crazy about Benefit in general. I have had a couple of their products and none of them particularly stood out to me. Don’t even get me started on Dr Feelgood – probably the most useless makeup item I ever bought. However, Creaseless Cream Shadows are amazing. They are truly infallible! Even when they dry out and flake they still last all day and I know that I don’t need any touch ups even if I’m out and about all day. If only they had a better range of shades…

Where to find them?

You can purchase the two products at a MAC and Benefit counters and stores all over the world. In the UK, Benefit retails at £14 for 4.5g and MAC Paint Pots at £14.50 for 5g.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marion
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:24:57

    Thanks for cool pics!

    Reply

  2. Derin
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 19:39:24

    I still love UD Primer Potion best.

    Reply

  3. sexdating gratis
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 19:03:17

    Hi you have a great blog over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up the great work I’ll visit your blog again. Thanks!

    Reply

  4. lista de email
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 10:21:43

    Reply

  5. Trackback: 4 Cream Eye Shadows | Young For Good

Leave a Reply

