Soy Candles – Safer, Cleaner, Better !

For Every Body Soy Candles.

There is something about the English weather that makes me want to burn scented candles every day. It also might be that I’m avoiding sugar at the moment and if I can’t eat sweets I want to at least be able to smell something sweet. My favourite candles are soy candles from For Every Body.

Soy Candles

Soy candles have a number of advantages over your average paraffin candles:

  • Health. First of all, soy candles are much healthier than paraffin candles. Couple of years ago American scientists discovered that paraffin candles produce harmful fumes and may lead to lung cancer or asthma. Of course, burning a candle every now and then will not put you at risk of developing these conditions. Still, frequent exposure to such fumes over a long period of time may increase the risk. Fumes from soy candles are far less harmful. If like me you burn candles often and in closed spaces (e.g. your room, bathroom) it might be worth switching to soy candles.
  • Environment. Second, soy candles are good for the environment. Soy, as opposed to paraffin, is a renewable material. Why not go green?
  • Long-lasting. Soy candles burn slower than paraffin candles. As a result they last for longer.
  • Safety. They are also safer. As soy candles burn at a lower temperature than paraffin candles if you happen to spill hot wax it won’t burn you as much. Ok, this might not be a priority when choosing a candle. But soy wax is also easier to clean than paraffin one. You can just wipe it off with a cloth soaked in warm water. Good luck doing the same with a normal candle. If you ever managed to spill paraffin wax on your clothes you know what I’m talking about.

For Every Body

It’s quite difficult to find good scented soy candles in the UK. The ones that I found have this generic ‘organic’ scent. Even the scented ones. What I really like about For Every Body candles is that they have a very strong, clear scent which lingers in my room for hours after burning. They come in really cool rustic glass jars and they have rich and complex scents. And there is so many to choose from! I’m a big fan of sweet, spicy food scents like vanilla, cinnamon, almond etc. (basically desert-based scents). Here is my current For Every Body selection:

My candles: Belgium Waffles, Banana Bread, Fresh Cloves, and Cherry Blossom

Banana Bread – this candle is amazing. It made me crave banana bread (not so common in Europe). I actually baked my first ever banana bread (gluten free) over the weekend, inspired by this candle. It’s a super sweet toffee, banana, buttery scent. With a hint of pumpkin and spices.

Cherry Blossom – despite the name, this candle smells like a fresh cherry pie. With a lot of almonds and a dash of brandy. Somehow it doesn’t smell as strongly as the others when it burns. Buy hey, the colour is so pretty it makes up for it.

Belgium Waffles – another cravings-inducing candle. Smells like maple syrup and fresh pancakes or waffles with butter. And strong coffee. Haven’t burned it yet but I’m sure it will be one of my favourites.

Fresh Cloves – it’s a strange one. The scent is amazing but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I smelled cloves and am pretty sure it’s not it. It’s like a fresh vanilla pudding, with nutmeg and coco, and maybe carob powder too.

Cons ?

I have only one concern. In most single wick candles the wick is not in the centre of the jar. As a result the candle does not burn equally and some wax remains unburned after the candle has burned out. For some reason this bothers me.

Where to buy them?

If you’re lucky enough to live in the US you can order them directly from For Ever Body.

If you live in Europe you can also order them off Amazon.

If you live in the UK and do not want to pay for international shipping you can get selected scents in TkMaxx for about £6-7 each.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Alicja
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 06:28:35

    great stuff, thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 541 other followers

